Sister R. Mildred Barker ‎– Early Shaker Spirituals

Rounder Records ‎– 0078
Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 The Rolling Deep
A2 I Hunger And Thirst
A3 Come Life, Shaker Life
A4 On Zion's Holy Ground
A5 Little Children
A6 Down In The Lowly Vale
A7 I'll Spend And Be Spent
A8 The Gospel Is Advancing
A9 Tis The Gift To Be Simple
A10 Low, Low In This Pretty Path
A11 I Will Walk With My Children
A12 Bow Down, O Zion
A13 Low Down In The Valley
A14 I Love Mother, I Love Her Way
A15 Who Will Bow And Bend Like The Willow
A16 I Looked And Lo A Lamb
A17 On Learning Songs
A18 Let Me Have Mother's Gospel
A19 With A New Tongue
A20 On Sister Paulina Springer
B1 I Never Did Believe
B2 O Holy Father
B3 Yielding And Simple
B4 We Must Be Meek
B5 O Brighter Than The Morning Star
B6 Farewell, Earthly Joy
B7 Down To The Deep And Rolling River
B8 My Home, My Sweet Home In Zion
B9 O The Gospel Of Mother
B10 I Bless The Day
B11 This Gospel How Precious
B12 I Feel The Need Of A Deeper Baptism
B13 Gospel Kindred, How I Love You
B14 Love Is Little
B15 Love, More Love
B16 How Lovely Are The Faithful Souls
B17 Where Is The Gem
B18 Blessed, Thrice Blessed
B19 O Give Me A Little Love
B20 We Will All Go Home With You



Recorded in 1963, 1966, 1970 and 1976. The recording supersedes the two earlier pressing of "Early Shaker Spirituals." It omits some songs used in the earlier album, and introduces new songs and interview and new performances of ones in the other album.


Add Review



July 19, 2017
This issue includes a 20 page booklet, which is shown in the photos.