Skúli Sverrisson ‎– Sería II

Sería Music ‎– none
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Volumes
Bass Drum, Keyboards, Banjo – Davíð Þór*Clarinet – Anthony BurrGuitar – Amedeo*Guitar, Bass, Autoharp, Organ, Electric Piano, Piano [Toy], Percussion, Glockenspiel – Skúli*Viola – Eyvind KangVocals – Krístin Anna*
2 Her Looking Back
Bass Clarinet, Celesta [Celeste] – Anthony BurrCello – Hildur GuðnadóttirGuitar, Omnichord – Amedeo*Guitar, Resonator Guitar [Dobro], Bass, Organ – Skúli*Piano, Keyboards – Davíð Þór*Viola – Eyvind KangVocals, Charango – Ólöf Arnalds
3 Instants
Bass, Guitar – Skúli*
4 Unbend
Bass Drum – Anthony BurrBass, Guitar, Electric Piano, Autoharp, Organ – Skúli*Cello – Hildur GuðnadóttirGuitar – Amedeo*Piano, Drums – Davíð Þór*Vocals – Ólöf Arnalds
5 Módir
Cello – Hildur GuðnadóttirClarinet – Anthony BurrGuitar, Bass, Electric Piano – Skúli*Viola – Eyvind Kang
6 Divena
Guitar – Amedeo*Guitar, Bass, Autoharp, Organ – Skúli*Piano – Davíð Þór*Vocals – Ólöf Arnalds
7 The Arrangement
Clarinet – Anthony BurrGuitar, Bass – Skúli*Piano – Davíð Þór*Tenor Saxophone [Tenor Sax] – Óskar Guðjónsson*Viola – Eyvind KangVocals – Ólöf Arnalds
8 Without Memory
Celesta [Celeste], Organ, Piano [Toy] – Anthony BurrCello – Hildur GuðnadóttirGuitar – Amedeo*Guitar, Bass, Organ – Skúli*Piano – Davíð Þór*
9 The Sound Of Snow
Bass Clarinet – Anthony BurrCello – Hildur GuðnadóttirOmnichord – Amedeo*Organ – Davíð Þór*Resonator Guitar [Dobro], Guitar, Bass – Skúli*Viola – Eyvind KangVocals – Ólöf Arnalds
10 Le Feu
Celesta [Celeste] – Anthony BurrCharango – Ólöf ArnaldsDrums – Davíð Þór*Guitar – Amedeo*Guitar, Bass – Skúli*Tenor Saxophone [Tenor Sax] – Óskar Guðjónsson*Trumpet [Bass] – Eyvind Kang



Recorded at Sundlaugin, Iceland in October 2009. Additional recordings at home in New York, New Orleans and Berlin.
Digipak with booklet of credits.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 616892108764



Add Review



November 22, 2011
edited over 6 years ago

Sincerely i admit to prefer this "Seria II" to the previous Icelandic multi awarded 2006 "Seria" because it is less effected on guitars and more vocal oriented plus has some detailed percussive iter.
It is well crafted and fully born and matured like a fresh fruit in Iceland background and every musician here takes his job to add layer upon layer to make the songs great.
I would have preferred more vocals by Kristin Anna Valtýsdóttir in order to differentiate the timbric cantato with distinctive feelings: Olof Arnalds is more wide but Kristin Anna Valtýsdóttir is much more soft, exact voice for the epic opening track of "Volumes" . by far the best of the album, undoubtely.

Manufactury in the artisan way is very preminent on all songs :it is clear that behind all tracks there 's the creative time spent to build up perfect harmony progression and arrangments in the cinematic way of composing a film score: sometimes come to mind the best Ennio Morricone touch of orchestra wich is implied in the instrumentation used but most of all are the big names musician wich are therethat makes a reasonable difference.
Players like Eyvind Kang and Anthony Burr are outstanding contributors and one time again is clear that always their partnership in creation of music is always proliferant.

Fortunately the friendness among Sverrisson, Pace and Kang wich was strongly constant grown from the perfect Blonde Redhead's album "Misery is a Buttefly" collaboration on, is reflected here showing that time after time the collaboration between creative minds led to ambitious project of particular quality.
Infact some of the magic aura of Seria II can be connected to previuosly mentioned Blonde Redhead's album and Amedeo Pace guitar is naturally distinct and soothing.
The reaching points of this album are high and other players like Davíð Þór at piano and drums, Ólöf Arnalds at vocals and charango,Hildur Guðnadóttir at cello makes a safe shot to a listening quality pleasure.
The commonidea of purpose gives unity to music that slowly takes the listener to a visual kind of journey because the feeling into music is such of a strong soundtrack to a film still to be written but surely lived by the main soul here wich is skulu Sverrisson, chief in operation to fuse all such players to his ability of sinthesis: his duty overcome the bass playing to dedicate himself to dobro, guitar and other more classical machinery like Guitar, Bass, Autoharp, Organ, Electric Piano, Toy Piano, Percussion and Glockenspiel.
Plus some more saxophone, trumpet,omnichord and celesta plus organ and keyboard makes sure to everyone listener that beauty in music is made by the perfect fusion of quality ingredients, but the best is reached when musician behind them share a common point of view in everyday life.