Skinny Puppy ‎– Last Rights

Capitol Records ‎– CDP 7 98037 2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Love In Vein 5:35
2 Killing Game 3:49
3 Knowhere? 4:19
4 Mirror Saw 3:50
5 Inquisition 5:18
6 Scrapyard 3:52
7 Riverz End 6:41
8 Lust Chance 3:45
9 Circustance 4:38
10 Left Hand Shake 0:00
11 Download
Synthesizer – Martijn De Kleer

Companies, etc.



Track 10 was left out due to copyright problems. It was later released as a limited edition single.

This is the second US pressing of this CD with the corrected track indexing. Initial copies of this edition were packaged in a longbox with a sticker stating "quality controlled Skinny Puppy".

The first pressing of this CD had an indexing error.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 077779803729
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7777-98037-2 9
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 98037 2-1-4 CAPITOL JAX 9C W.O. 25283-2 CDP7980372 03-92 DISC MFG, INC. (H)
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 98037 2-1-5 CAPITOL JAX 10C W.O. 25283-2 CDP7980372 03-92 DISC MFG, INC. <H>

Other Versions (5 of 24) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
W2-30072 Skinny Puppy Last Rights(CD, Album) Nettwerk W2-30072 Canada 1992 Sell This Version
0 6700 30208 2 4 Skinny Puppy Last Rights(CD, Album, RE) Nettwerk America 0 6700 30208 2 4 US Unknown Sell This Version
0 6700 30208 2 4 Skinny Puppy Last Rights(CD, Album, RE) Nettwerk America 0 6700 30208 2 4 US 2001 Sell This Version
CDP 7 98037 2 Skinny Puppy Last Rights(CD, Album, MP) Capitol Records CDP 7 98037 2 US 1992 Sell This Version
W4-30072 Skinny Puppy Last Rights(Cass, Album) Nettwerk W4-30072 Canada 1992 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



May 14, 2008
I bought this album in one of its Capitol incarnations in the late 90s, so by then the track problems had been fixed, but I could imagine that was quite annoying. Technicalities away, this is definitely Skinny Puppy's opus. It is a good example of a well-rounded album in my book, one which, while having some stand-out tracks ("Killing Game," "Knowhere?," "Scrapyard"), does not interrupt the flow with singles-to-be. The band really explores extended ambience as well as the peak application of Key's live drumming and abrasive sampling. The album is like a stripping away of layers and layers of self and ruined emotion towards a spiritual preparation for death. Every track coheres into this theatre of the mind. That said, the album really does suffer from the lack of the original Track 10, Left HandShake. It was the most simulataneously mirror-stare meditative and medicatively gut-wrenchingly disorienting track on the album, a perfect climax before the stunning explosion into satori that is Download. However anyone who uses a computer who's acquired Track 10 knows how to arrange the album the way it was intended to be heard in the first place.


February 17, 2006
edited over 13 years ago

Through the first few listens, I was drawn to Scrapyard for some reason. I then gradually started to favor Love in vein and Killing game. Riverz end is a rehash of Rivers from Rabies. Inquisition is not too bad, but there are better singles out there. The song names are quite interesting in how they are spelled and utilize homonyms as well as synonyms.


July 31, 2003
edited over 6 years ago
Many of the initial released copies were defective. A second issue of 'Last Rights' was released with a sticker slapped on the cardboard box marked "quality controlled".


June 9, 2003

I don't know whether it's the same on the Nettwerk release of 'Last Rights' or not, but the tracks on Capitol's release are cut incorrectly. excluding the first track, every other track starts at the last 30 seconds of the preceding track. Very annoying.
Also, here is a quote from regarding track 10:
The tenth track, which is missing from the track listing of Last Rights, was originally entitled "Left Handshake," and was a song featuring extensive samples of Timothy Leary. However, the owner of the source of the samples threatened Skinny Puppy with a law suit, if they used the samples in question. Not wishing to be involved in legal complications -- although Leary personally had given his permission for use of his words in the song -- Skinny Puppy decided to drop the song altogether. It has since appeared on the European release of Brap, as well as on a couple of bootlegs.