Slam ‎– Human Response

Soma Quality Recordings ‎– SOMACD059
CD, Album, Enhanced

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Subject Invisible 2:18
2 No One Left To Follow
Vocals, Written-By – My Robot Friend
3 Weekday Mourning 2:12
4 Looking North 7:23
5 Ghost Song 5:25
6 We Medicate
Vocals, Written-By – Dot Allison
7 Reluctant Traveller 3:53
8 Azure 9:21
9 Staccato Rave 7:20
10 We're Not Here 7:10
11 Memoir 3:08
Video Azure 4:50

Companies, etc.



The bonus video consists of a quicktime movie showing a ballet dance - a classical "pas de deux" performed by Sara and Jonathan Barton - musically accompanied by the track "Azure".

℗&© 2007 Soma Recordings Ltd.
Manufactured in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 96122 00592 3
  • Barcode (Reader): 796122005923
  • Label Code: LC12668
  • Matrix / Runout: SFH SOMACD059/A T60721
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LD02
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5J18

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SOMACD059 Slam Human Response(CDr, Album, Promo) Soma Quality Recordings SOMACD059 UK 2007 Sell This Version
SOMACD059 Slam Human Response(CD, Album, Promo, Car) Soma Quality Recordings SOMACD059 UK 2007 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



June 29, 2018
We Medicate with Dot Allison should be made available on vinyl


December 17, 2014

The sharp tones of "Subject Invisible" that open Slam's HUMAN RESPONSE suggest that they may have taken a turn towards IDM. And that's not entirely wrong; they've given up the more pop leanings of their previous two albums for a more pure electronic experience. Indeed, "No One Left To Follow" has an iciness that's new to Slam's work, and "Weekday Mourning" almost sounds like a Black Dog-like interlude. The thoughtfulness of "Looking North" gives way to the twinkling lights of "Ghost Song." Frequent guest vocalist Dot Allison reappears on the spectral "We Medicate," But "Azure" returns the Slam boys to pure techno, and it's a glorious track, long and winding, with melodic intrigue to spare, and "Staccato Rave" continues that trend. The chilly and more spare "We're Not Here" keeps the tempo up, and the short, mysterious "Memoir" closes the album. A fascinating new direction for Slam, one that seems to fit them to a T.