The Smiths ‎– The Queen Is Dead

Rough Trade ‎– ROUGH 96
Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Queen Is Dead (Take Me Back To Dear Old Blighty (Medley))
Written-By ["Take Me Back To Dear Old Blighty"] – Mills*, Scott*, Godfrey*
A2 Frankly, Mr. Shankly
Engineer – John Porter
A3 I Know It's Over 5:48
A4 Never Had No One Ever 3:36
A5 Cemetry Gates 2:39
B1 Bigmouth Strikes Again
Backing Vocals – Ann Coates
B2 The Boy With The Thorn In His Side 3:15
B3 Vicar In A Tutu 2:21
B4 There Is A Light That Never Goes Out 4:02
B5 Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others 3:14

Companies, etc.



Recorded in England, Winter 1985.

Gatefold sleeve.
Printed inner sleeve.
Some copies with folded A2 black and white poster with the same image as inside of gatefold.
Mastered by Tim Young at CBS

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Label Code: LC 5661
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped Runout Side A): ROUGH 96 A-1U-1-1-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Run Out Etching): FEAR OF MANCHESTER
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped Runout Side B): ROUGH 96 B-1U-1-1-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Run Out Etching): THEM WAS ROTTEN DAYS

Other Versions (5 of 104) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
32JC-162 The Smiths The Queen Is Dead(CD, Album) Tokuma Japan Communications 32JC-162 Japan 1986 Sell This Version
4509-91896-2 The Smiths The Queen Is Dead(CD, Album, RE) WEA 4509-91896-2 Australia 1993 Sell This Version
9 25426-2 The Smiths The Queen Is Dead(CD, Album, Club, RE) Sire, Rough Trade 9 25426-2 US Unknown Sell This Version
TC-VG50187 The Smiths The Queen Is Dead(Cass, Album) Virgin TC-VG50187 Greece 1986 Sell This Version
43 197 L The Smiths The Queen Is Dead(LP, Album) Nuevos Medios 43 197 L Spain 1986 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 20, 2013

Some facts you may or may not know about 'The Queen Is Dead' (although a lot of them are already here)


September 13, 2005
edited over 10 years ago

My favourite album of all time. Perfection from start to finish with some of the most achingly beautiful music ever created. Witty, poignant, touching, life affirming. The lyrics are astounding, the musicianship breathtaking and Morrissey sings sublimely. The call to arms punk-rocking sensibility of 'The Queen is Dead', 'Frankly Mr Shankly' speaks to anyone in the dull mundane day to day slog of work, the brilliant 'Bigmouth Strikes Again', That jangly guitar on 'The Boy With The Thorn In His Side' and one of the greatest love songs of all time 'There Is A Light That Never Goes Out'. What a piece of music - Mancunian Masterpiece.