Soap&Skin ‎– From Gas To Solid / You Are My Friend

[PIAS] Recordings ‎– PIASR1040LPX
Vinyl, LP, Album, 180 gram
Vinyl, 7", White
All Media, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 This Day
A2 Athom
A3 Italy
Lyrics By – Anja PlaschgProducer – Anton Spielmann
A4 (This Is) Water
A5 Surrounded
Bassoon [Double] – Sophie BreitCello – Christof Unterberger, Lukas LauermannDouble Bass – Barbara BinderRecorded By [Overdubs] – Markus Wallner, Martin KlebahnTrumpet, Flugelhorn – Johannes Hötzinger, Martin EberleViola – Julia Purgina, Rita CudaViolin – Amarilio Ramalho, Balazs Schwartz
A6 Creep
B1 Heal
B2 Foot Chamber
Electric Guitar, Recorded By [Electric Guitar] – Anton Spielmann
B3 Safe With Me
B4 Falling
B5 Palindrome
Recorded By [Vocals], Arranged By [Vocals] – Anja PlaschgVocals [Sung By] – Hans-Jörg Gauglhofer
B6 What A Wonderful World
Written-By – Robert Thiele*, George Weiss*
Mawal Jamar
C Mawal Jamar
Recorded By – Anja Plaschg
D Mawal Jamar (Live)
Cello – Christof Unterberger, Lukas LauermannDouble Bass – Barbara BinderMixed By – Anton SpielmannOrgan – Peter FriséeRecorded By – Markus WallnerTrumpet – Johannes Hötzinger, Martin EberleViola – Martina BischofViolin – Amarilio Ramalho

Companies, etc.



Sticker: Limited Edition includes 180G Vinyl Album, Mawal Jamar 7'', Lyric Booklet and MP3-Download-Voucher

All string samples (A1 to A3, A5, B1 to B3, B6) based on a recording session from 2008 recorded at Amann Studios, Vienna

Overdubs in A5 recorded at 4tune audio productions, Vienna

Drums and percussion on A5 & B4 recorded at Iguana Studios. London

A3 music from "Dream Baby Dream" composed by Martin Rev courtesy of Revega Publishing Co 2018 © Revega Publishing Co. and Strictly Confidential

A6 lyrics contain elements of "Erklär mir, Liebe" written by Ingeborg Bachmann (© 1956) courtesy of Ingeborg Bachmann Estate (Copyright Control/GEMA)

B5 lyrics written by anonymous Roman author

B6 published by Times Square Music / Abilene Music

Anja Plaschg aka Soap&Skin is published by by Strictly Confidential

7" (labels read A & B:
C recorded/mixed at Soap&Skin Studio
D recorded at Wiener Konzerthaus on 03.10.2016

℗ + © 2018 Made in the EU

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5051083135320
  • Label Code: LC07800
  • Rights Society: BIEM/SABAM
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, stamped): 177184E1/AA1 PIASR1040LP
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, etched): 55018 A TK-BO Calyx'18
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, stamped): 177184E2/A1 PIASR1040LP
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, etched): 55018 B TK-Bo Calyx'18
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, stamped): 177392H1/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, etched): FMW > BO > Calyx 2018 PIASR1041S A 45RPM
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, stamped): 177392H2/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, etched): FMW > BO > Calyx 2018 PIASR1041S B 45RPM
  • Other (7" cat# on label): PIASR1041S

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All



Add Review



January 23, 2020

At the first few listenings I missed the obscure and sometimes morbid atmosphere that Anja Plaschg delivered in her previous works/albums and I think this is the main reason for the bad reviews I came across on the internet, but IMO this album is just beautiful as the previous ones. It is not worse or better, it's just different. The atmosphere is still melancholic but her singing and her voice gives me a sense of happiness and optimism unlike on her earlier songs.
Since I've got this record a few days ago I play it on repeat. The quality of the pressing is very good.