Solar X ‎– Little Pretty Automatic

Worm Interface ‎– WI017
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Dasha 1,2,3,4..... 4:32
2 One Free Drink 3:18
3 Russian Roulette 2:13
4 Bullet Gum 3:44
5 Shoot My Heart 3:52
6 Happy Balloon 1:50
7 Xiao Jie 4:57
8 Net Camouflage 3:35
9 Supertechno 4:04
10 Little Pretty Automatic 4:04
11 Indian Movie 1:52
12 Made In Tula 4:48
13 Green Cat 4:02
14 3dpole 3:56
15 Koroleva
Vocals – Art Troitsky*
16 Acid For Mama 4:38



℗ ++seven © Worm Interface Recordings.

All tracks recorded by Roman Belavkin in Moscow 1998.

'Russian Roulette' by kind permission of Defective Records, USA.


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



February 19, 2019
edited 3 months ago

The Russian Richard D. James Album. Btw, I just paid $4 for this absurdist masterpiece. Used record stores are still filled with bargains if you look for them!


May 13, 2017
Great stuff, Dasha 1,2,3,4..... is so unique! Great stuff, Dasha 1,2,3,4..... is so unique!


July 26, 2016

IDM, Russian-style, from Solar X with his album LITTLE PRETTY AUTOMATIC. The deep tones of "Dasha 1,2,3,4..." soon give way to drill'n'bass, while "One Free Drink" is more familiar warm IDM, and "Bullet Gum" blends the two seamlessly, as does the string-laden "Shoot My Heart." Meanwhile, "Xiao Jie" samples some kung-fu Foley work and incorporates some Asian pentatonic tones, while "Net Camouflage" kicks off with some musique concrete before shifting into some echoing melodies. "Supertechno" roughs things back up, however, before the title track turns the mood more melancholy. "Made in Tula" carries this feel forward, injecting some mystery into the proceedings until "Green Cat" brings back the warmth as "3dpole" brings in the swirls. A baritone Russian vocal scrapes its way over the the delicate "Koroleva" and "Acid for Mama" closes the album, yes, with acid, but a thoughtful type of acid. Two of out three correct descriptors in the album title isn't bad!


April 4, 2013
I had this cd in my want list for about 5 years and finally found it on discogs for sale. Good things come to those who wait. This album is is the seminal sound of late 90's progressive electronica. This style is where the warm, chunky sound of old equipment meets the pristine sequencing knowhow and recording quality of the years that follow. I cannot say enough good things about this album. Think the elegance of Bochum Welt with the agility of mid school Aphex Twin. I wish Aphex recorded his Joyrex eps this well.


December 12, 2012
edited over 5 years ago

For anybody who enjoys the output of AFX, Squarepusher et al on Rephlex, Warp around 1996-97, this is a sure buy. Intricate polyrhythms (so called drill'n'bass) sprinkled with nice melodies.