Sondheim* ‎– Sondheim Sings Volume II: 1946-60

PS Classics Inc. ‎– PS-9533
CD, Remastered


1 You're Only As Old As You Look 2:36
2 Do I Hear A Waltz? 2:02
3 Pour Le Sport 2:46
4 Men 0:19
5 Steve Greets Ockie 1 0:12
6 What To Do At George School 0:18
7 How Do I Know? 1:43
8 When I Get Famous 2:31
9 A Star Is Born 7:41
10 I Remember That 3:56
11 In No Time At All / A Moment With You 3:08
12 New York Song 3:46
13 The Girls Of Summer 2:44
14 I Wouldn't Change A Thing 3:48
15 Ten Years Old 6:34
16 High Life 2:11
17 Where Do I Belong? 1:52
18 Bitterness / Steve Greets Ockie 2 0:25
18a Bitterness
18b Steve Greets Ockie 2



From the private collection of Stephen Sondheim, 18 demos - all digitally remastered - of the Tony, Grammy, Oscar, and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer-lyricist singing and playing his own work.

℗&© 2005 PS Classics Inc.

All photographs from Sondheim's personal collection.

Special Thanks to Hal Prince, Chuck Hollerith, Jason Gaines

Jewel case & booklet inside cardboard slipcase.

About The Recordings: Five of the recordings in "Sondheim Sings (Volume II)" are derived from original acetates recorded on home equipment by Mr. Sondheim during the 1940s. Beginning with "Climb High" in 1952, Mr. Sondheim began recording his demos on tape at 15 ips full track mono in the home of John Barry Ryan. Our sonic goal is to give the listener as clean and accurate a digital copy of these historic recordings as possible, while preserving their original character and sound quality. Therefore, only minimal processing was effected in order to present the recordings in "Sondheim Sings (Volume II)" to their best advantage.

Apportioned proceeds from the Sondheim Sings series will be donated to Young Playwrights Inc., founded in 1981 by Mr. Sondheim for the support and development of young playwrights under the age of 18.

Notes not included on release:
Volume II includes rare songs Sondheim wrote in college, for early un-produced musicals, and for the amusement of friends and colleagues in the 1950’s.

Detailed 40 page booklet provides a historical background, including all the lyrics and annotations of every reference in this collection of songs.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 881692953320