Sonic Experience ‎– Def Til Dawn - The True Rave Scene

Strictly Underground Records ‎– STUR LP 2
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Intro (Have Your Rave)
A2 No More Music By The Suckers
A3 Mark & Steve (In The Studio)
A4 Can't Get Enough
A5 Mr Big & The Acid House Mania
A6 Psychophobia
A7 All We Wanna Do Is Dance
A8 Rock Hardcore
A9 What's The Power Output
A10 Protein (Remix)
A11 Blow Your Whistles For The D.J.
A12 Got To Let You Know
B1 Intro Chief Inspector
B2 Everybody Get Crazy
B3 Summer Of Love
B4 High Court Injunction
B5 Musics Gonna Rule The World
B6 Police Have Stopped It
B7 I'm Rushin
B8 Make Some Noise For Sonic Experience
B9 Acid Is The Future
B10 Driving Home After The P.A.


Tracks A1, A3, A5, A7, A9, A11, B1, B4, B6, B8 and B10 are all
dictaphone recordings of goings-on before, during and after illegal
raves, presumably recorded by Mark Ryder.



Add Review



May 14, 2007
edited over 10 years ago
I'm in the process of digitizing my record collection and started with this one. What a choice. Listening to "Sonic Experience - Def Til Dawn - The True Rave Scene" brought back a wave of memories from the heady dayz of rave.
The snippets of taped conversations between the tunes had me remembering when we jumped through hedges to get to raves, when we put one quid in a bucket to bounce around all night to pounding tunes in a disused warehouse. From this perspective the album is priceless.

The tunes themselves demonstrate how good the STUR producers are at their art - all the hardcore sounds and samples are present and correct, having the same effect as the bits in between the tunes - bringing back happy memories.

Listeing to "Def Til Dawn" again made me realise that 'rave culture' in the UK, despite being 20 years old, is something that will remain with tens of thousands of us for many years to come - perhaps indefinitely. Rave on!