Sonic Youth ‎– Dirty

DGC ‎– GED24485, DGC ‎– DGCD24485
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 100% 2:28
2 Swimsuit Issue 2:57
3 Theresa's Sound-World 5:27
4 Drunken Butterfly 3:03
5 Shoot 5:16
6 Wish Fulfillment 3:24
7 Sugar Kane 5:56
8 Orange Rolls, Angel's Spit 4:17
9 Youth Against Fascism
Guitar [Xtra Guitar] – Ian MacKaye
10 Nic Fit
Mixed By – Sonic YouthSongwriter [Song By] – A. Mackaye*, B. Quieroz*, E. Mashety*, R. Moore*
11 On The Strip 5:41
12 Chapel Hill 4:46
13 JC 4:01
14 Purr 4:21
15 Créme Brûlèe
Mixed By – Butch Vig

Companies, etc.



Variant of Dirty with different packaging: this version doesn't display an image under the tray.

Produced and recorded at Magic Shop, NYC early '92.
Mixed at Sound On Sound, NYC.
Additional overdubs at Sear Sound, NYC.
Ian MacKaye courtesy of Dischord Records.
Mastered at Masterdisk, NYC.
All songs published by Sonik Tooth BMI except "Nic Fit" Pub. Designee.

Back cover:
℗ & © 1992 The David Geffen Company, an MCA Company
Distributed by BMG · A Bertelsmann Music Group Company
Printed in Germany

CD label:
℗ © 1992 The David Geffen Company, an MCA Company
Made in Germany

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 720642448526
  • Rights Society: BIEM/GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 7260
  • Distribution Code (D): QB
  • Distribution Code (F): BM650
  • SPARS Code: AAD
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): SONOPRESS G-1985 / GED24485 B 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): SONOPRESS G-1985 / GED24485 B

Other Versions (5 of 82) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
DGCD-24493 Sonic Youth Dirty(CD, Album, Ora) DGC DGCD-24493 US 1992 Sell This Version
DGCD-24485 Sonic Youth Dirty(CD, Album, Club) DGC DGCD-24485 US 1992 Sell This Version
GFLD 19296 Sonic Youth Dirty(CD, Album, RP) Geffen Records GFLD 19296 UK Unknown Sell This Version
GEF24485(2) Sonic Youth Dirty(2xLP, Album) DGC GEF24485(2) Europe 1992 Sell This Version
DGCD24485, DGCD 24485, GED24485, GED 24485, 424 48 Sonic Youth Dirty(CD, Album, RE, RP) DGC, DGC, DGC, DGC, DGC DGCD24485, DGCD 24485, GED24485, GED 24485, 424 48 UK & Europe Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



December 31, 2016
The New York noiserockformatie Sonic Youth made with it by Butch Vig (Garbage, Nirvana) produced Dirty (1992) the most accessible album in its existence. The dissonant guitar votes this time were unleashed on fairly conventional rock songs as Sugar Kane and 100%. The album is eleven years later re-released in a beautiful cover, with eight b-sides and eleven shots from the rehearsal phase.