Sonic Youth ‎– Ecoute Ca Coco

CDr, Unofficial Release, Cardboard Slipcase


1 Kotton Krown 2:04
2 Eric's Trip 3:56
3 Empty Page 5:10
4 Plastic Sun 3:13
5 Rain On Tin 9:05
6 Kissability 4:06
7 Karen 2 10:05
8 Untiteled 5:15
9 Radical Adults 3:43
10 Drunken 9:44
11 Strawberry 1:57
12 Disconnection 7:13
13 Nature Scene 13:28


This release seems to be a pirated version of an already existing bootleg. The original version, in question, can be found here.

The packaging varies from the original in that instead of a digipak, the disc is packaged in a white cardboard slipcase with color pictures of the front and back covers glued on each side. The pictures also seem to be cropped to fit the case, most noticeably the original Ganja logo on the back and Thurston's left side (right end of the cover) on the front both being cut off compared to the original. Another notable discrepancy is the absence of the photographs of the band members that were included on the inside cover of the original version, due to this version's packaging being a slipcase.

The disc also differs in that the original release disc has what appears to be a drawing of Sonic Youth with the band name and album title on top of a blue background. This version's disc is reflective on both sides and has no art at all.

"Untiteled" [sic] and its corresponding track number are not listed on the back cover. Otherwise, the tracklisting on this page corresponds to the one on the back cover of the release.

Many of the tracks on this release are either misspelled, an abbreviation of a song title, a song title wrongly applied to a different song, or a combination of any of these. The corrections are as follows:
"Empty Page", when imported into a computer, is listed as "Empry Pages"
"Plastic Sun", when imported into a computer, is listed as "Plasic Sun"
"Karen 2" is an abbreviation of "Karen Revisited"
"Untiteled" is a misspelling of "Untitled" which is actually a version of "Radical Adults Lick Godhead Style"
"Radical Adults" is an abbreviation of "Radical Adults Lick Godhead Style" but is actually a version of "Drunken Butterfly"
"Drunken" is an abbreviation of "Drunken Butterfly" but is actually a version of "Sympathy for the Strawberry"
"Strawberry" is an abbreviation of "Sympathy for the Strawberry" but is actually a recording of the audience cheering.
"Disconnection" is an abbreviation of "Disconnection Notice"
"Nature Scene" is an abbreviation of "Making the Nature Scene"

The back cover says "Lille, France, June 20th, 2002 - Soundboard recording" but the recording is actually from a show in Salzburg, Austria on June 15th, 2002, as reflected by the parenthetical subtitle of the album when imported into a computer: "(Salzburg 2002)".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Outer Ring): 80 CWLHT — TN — 0042 2202
  • Other (Inner Ring): 5144QF091LH122403 T

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
GANJA-35 Sonic Youth Ecoute Ca Coco(CD, Unofficial) Ganja GANJA-35 Europe 2002 Sell This Version