Soul Coughing ‎– Ruby Vroom

Rhino Records (2) ‎– R1 45752, Slash ‎– R1 45752
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, 180g

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Is Chicago, Is Not Chicago 3:47
A2 Sugar Free Jazz 3:55
A3 Casiotone Nation 3:50
A4 Blueeyed Devil 4:12
B1 Bus To Beelzebub
Written-By – R. Scott*
B2 True Dreams Of Wichita 5:00
B3 Screenwriter's Blues 5:04
C1 Moon Sammy 4:09
C2 Supra Genius 3:59
C3 City Of Motors 4:38
C4 Uh, Zoom Zip 3:56
D1 Down To This
Written-By – C. Burnett*Written-By [Uncredited] – Charles Tobias, Lew Brown, Sam H. Stept, Toots Hibbert
D2 Mr. Bitterness 5:29
D3 Janine
Composed By [Answering Machine Vocal], Performer [Answering Machine Vocal] – Rachel Benbow MurdyRecorded By – James McLean

Companies, etc.



Shrinkwrap has sticker that says:
'THE FANTASTIC 1994 DEBUT FROM 90S CULT BAND SOUL COUGHING on Double 180 gram vinyl for the first time ever!"

Published by Published by Our Pal Dolores/WB Music Corp. ASCAP except track 5 published by Published by Our Pal Dolores/WB Music Corp./Music Sales Corp. ASCAP & track 12 published by Published by Our Pal Dolores/WB Music Corp./EMI Robbins Catalogue, Inc./Ched Music Corp. ASCAP/Island Music, Inc. BMI.

℗ 1994 Slash Records.
© 1994 Slash Records.

Recorded and mixed at Sunset Sound Factory in East Hollywood, CA, April and June 1994.

Track 12 contains the following samples: "Don't Sit Under The Apple Tree" (performed by The Andrew Sisters, written by Lew Brown, Sam H. Stept and Charles Tobias), used courtesy of MCA Records Inc.; "Smokestack Lightning" (performed by Howlin' Wolf, written by Chester Burnett), used courtesy of MCA Records Inc.; "Time Tough" (performed by Toots & The Maytals, written by Frederick Hibbert), used courtesy of Island Records Inc.

Made in E.U.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 825646133406
  • Barcode (Text): 8 25646 13340 6
  • Label Code (Printed on label rim): LC02982
  • Matrix / Runout: Side A) 12845 2A R1-45752
  • Matrix / Runout: Side B) 12845 2B R1-45752 i...i
  • Matrix / Runout: Side C) 12845 2C R1-45752
  • Matrix / Runout: Side D) 12845 2D R1-45752 i...i

Other Versions (5 of 9) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
9 45752-2 Soul Coughing Ruby Vroom(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records, Slash 9 45752-2 US 1994 Sell This Version
9 45752-2 Soul Coughing Ruby Vroom(CD, Album, RE, RP) Warner Bros. Records, Slash 9 45752-2 US Unknown Sell This Version
POCD-1163 Soul Coughing Ruby Vroom(CD, Album) London Records, Slash POCD-1163 Japan 1997 Sell This Version
828 555-2 Soul Coughing Ruby Vroom(CD, Album) Slash 828 555-2 UK & Europe 1994 Sell This Version
825646133406, R1 45752 Soul Coughing Ruby Vroom(2xLP, Album, 180) Slash, Slash 825646133406, R1 45752 Europe 2015 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 9 Reviews

Add Review



April 26, 2017

Sounds great. No issues whatsoever with my copy, nice dynamic warm sound, non-noisy pressing. The album's sequencing works surprisingly well as a double LP considering it wasn't intended to be released that way.


November 7, 2016
My 2xLP vinyl copy sounds fine. Excellent pressing.
Finally I can pitch up my favourites to 2016! For listening, for mixing. Soul Coughing at their best! Incredibly drivin', an inferno of sounds, superb lyrics. On TV Arte (France) I saw them once performing these tracks (found 2 tracks on youtube). Became a follower since then. Happy to have it on vinyl now. CD was ok, but the vinyls are even more intense, maybe because of the well tempered warmer bass.
It is 5am and you are listening.... (Screenwriter's Blues).


December 30, 2015

Sounds great!


September 14, 2015
If you already have the CD, and unless you like spending money on 12" objects that crackle, the vinyl Rhino repress is absolutely not essential.


September 12, 2015
edited over 2 years ago

Better late than never!!


September 1, 2015
What's the difference between this and the other 2015 vinyl reissue ?