Soulfly ‎– Primitive

Roadrunner Records ‎– 168 618 565-2, Roadrunner Records ‎– RR 8565-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Back To The Primitive 4:21
2 Pain
Lyrics By, Lead Vocals – Chino Moreno, Grady Avenell
3 Bring It 3:21
4 Jumpdafuckup
Lyrics By, Lead Vocals – Corey Taylor
5 Mulambo
Backing Vocals – The Mulambo TribeSampler [Foosball Sampler] – Zyon CavaleraSounds [Tuu Tuu Sound] – Igor Cavalera
6 Son Song
Drum Programming [Additional] – Deonte PerryMusic By, Lyrics By – Sean LennonProducer – Max Cavalera, Sean LennonVocals, Guitar, Piano, Synth – Sean Lennon
7 Boom
Vocals [Additional] – Toby Wright
8 Terrorist
Lyrics By, Lead Vocals – Tom ArayaVocals [Feedback] – Jose Navarro
9 The Prophet
Bass [Synth] – Toby Wright
10 Soulfly Ii
Percussion – Larry McDonald, Meia Noite, Zak SofalyPiano, Clarinet – Toby Wright
11 In Memory Of...
Berimbau – Max CavaleraDrum Programming, Music By [Additional] – Deonte PerryDrums [Live Drums] – Marcello DiasLead Vocals – Babatunde Rabouin, Deonte Perry, Justus OlbertLyrics By [Additional] – Babatunde Rabouin, Deonte Perry, Justus Olbert
12 Flyhigh
Lead Vocals – Asha RabouinLyrics By [Additional] – Justus Olbert

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 16861 8565-2 6
  • Matrix / Runout: UNIVERSAL 168618565202$ A
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0375
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L009

Other Versions (5 of 38) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RR 8565-2 Soulfly Primitive(CD, Album) Roadrunner Records RR 8565-2 Australia 2000 Sell This Version
RR 8513-2 Soulfly Primitive(CD, Album) Roadrunner Records RR 8513-2 US 2000 Sell This Version
none Soulfly Primitive(CDr, Album, Promo) Roadrunner Records none UK 2000 Sell This Version
RRCY-11129 Soulfly Primitive(CD, Album, Promo) Roadrunner Records RRCY-11129 Japan 2000 Sell This Version
IM 0002-03 Soulfly Primitive(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Roadrunner Records (6) IM 0002-03 Russia 2000 Sell This Version



Add Review

November 3, 2005
edited over 12 years ago
This album is worth buying for 2 songs -- "Back To The Primitive" and "Terrorist". Both are bombastic anthems - Metal doesn't get much better.

"Back To The Primitive" has quite a heavy tribal influence featuring excellent drums and a brilliant chant like chorus that only Max Cavalera could deliver - with venom!
The riffage is also huge. Quite similar to "Ratamahatta" but better in my opinion.

"Terrorist" features Tom Araya of Slayer and this collabotation makes for an awesome tune. Seriously heavy riffs and drumming combined with a great chorus of "Go Forth And Destroy!" The best part is the unexpected finale where the tempo increases with screams of "Rise...Above This Bullshit!" If this doesn't get you junping and banging your head then nothing will!

Unfortunately those 2 songs are the only real highlights for me as the rest of the album is quite average. "Pain" and "Bring It" are good but not great. There are also a couple of stinkers. "Flyhigh", the finale for the CD features female vocals courtesy of Asha Rabouin. A noble idea which I applaud but it just does not work. It starts off promising with a great riff but the vocals are just completely wrong and out of tune. They should really have decided not to release this as frankly it's embarassing. "Jumpdafuckup" also has some very annoying guest vocals from Chino Moreno. This is a big favourite with other Soulfly fans but I hate it. It's easy to see how Sean Lennons' career hasn't taken off on the evidence of "Son Song". Again a good idea and a promising song but Lennons' warblings completely ruin it.

A good example of the enigma that is Soulfly. Their albums are always a mixed bag but worth buying for those outstanding moments of inspiration.