Soundgarden ‎– Superunknown

A&M Records ‎– 0602537789818, Universal Music Group International ‎– 0602537789818
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, 180 Gram

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Let Me Drown
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris CornellPiano – Michael Beinhorn
A2 My Wave
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris CornellMusic By – Kim Thayil
A3 Fell On Black Days
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris Cornell
A4 Mailman
Lyrics By – Chris CornellMellotron – Matt CameronMusic By – Matt Cameron
B1 Superunknown
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris CornellMusic By – Kim Thayil
B2 Head Down
Drums [Additional], Percussion [Additional] – Ben Shepherd, Gregg KeplingerLyrics By, Music By – Ben Shepherd
B3 Black Hole Sun
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris Cornell
C1 Spoonman
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris CornellOther [Title] – Jeff AmentSpoons – Artis The SpoonmanVocals [Additional] – Ben Shepherd
C2 Limo Wreck
Lyrics By – Chris CornellMusic By – Kim Thayil, Matt CameronOther [Harmonic Guidance] – Fred Chalenor
C3 The Day I Tried To Live
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris Cornell
C4 Kickstand
Lyrics By – Chris CornellMusic By – Kim Thayil
D1 Fresh Tendrils
Clavinet – Natasha ShneiderLyrics By – Chris CornellLyrics By, Music By – Matt Cameron
D2 4th Of July
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris Cornell
D3 Half
Cello – Justine FoyLyrics By, Music By, Vocals, Guitar [Additional] – Ben ShepherdViola – April Acevez
D4 Like Suicide
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris Cornell
D5 She Likes Surprises
Lyrics By, Music By – Chris Cornell

Companies, etc.



20th anniversary edition
180-gram double vinyl, newly remastered from original analog tapes
Issued in a gatefold sleeve with 12 page book with new photos and art and a digital download card.

Engineered and mixed at Bad Animals Studio, Seattle, WA

Track D2 mixed at Electric Lady, NY
Track D5 recorded at Bear Creek Studios, Wooninville, WA, mixed at A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA. Originally released as International Album and U.S. Vinyl Album bonus track

This reissue mastered by: Stephen Marcussen, Marcussen Mastering

℗ © 2014 A&M Records

Made in the EU

Hype sticker on shink:
180-Gram audiophile
Double vinyl
Newly remastered from
Original analog tapes
Gatefold Jacket
12 page book
With new photos and art
Digital download card
320kbps vinyl ripped AAC MP4's

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 02537 78981 8
  • Barcode (Scanned): 602537789818
  • Rights Society: BIEM/SDRM
  • Label Code: LC00485
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A label): 0602537804689-LP01-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B label): 0602537804689-LP01-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C label): 0602537804696-LP02-C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D label): 0602537804696-LP02-D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped - variant 1): 118827E1/A 3778981-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped - variant 1): 118827E2/A 3778981-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout, stamped - variant 1): 118827E3/A 3778981-C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout, stamped - variant 1): 118827E4/A 3778981-D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped - variant 2): 118827E1/C 3778981-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped - variant 2): 118827E2/C 3778981-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout, stamped - variant 2): 118827E3/C 3778981-C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout, stamped - variant 2): 118827E4/D 3778981-D

Other Versions (5 of 111) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
31454 0198 2, 31454 0198-2 Soundgarden Superunknown(CD, Album) A&M Records, A&M Records 31454 0198 2, 31454 0198-2 US 1994 Sell This Version
489 Soundgarden Superunknown(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Mad Vox 489 Poland Unknown Sell This Version
540 215-4 Soundgarden Superunknown(Cass, Album) A&M Records 540 215-4 Europe 1994 Sell This Version
540 215-1 Soundgarden Superunknown(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Blu) A&M Records 540 215-1 Europe 1994 Sell This Version
540 215-2 Soundgarden Superunknown(CD, Album) A&M Records 540 215-2 UK, Europe & US 1994 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 22 Reviews

Add Review



May 15, 2018
I've listened to this album a gazillion times on cassette & CD and got tired of waiting for a better pressing (original LP isn't supposed to be that great anyway) but I was pretty afraid to get this release after all the (bad) press the remaster got...
I was betting that the vinyl version might sound a little better, and it seems i was right.

They certainly had a heavy hand on the 'loudness' factor since the listening experience can be a little tiring depending on your system and general state... but we're talking about a pretty heavy AND a 73 min long record after all!

As for the pressing, everything is good: heavy records, flat and quiet.
Artwork has been redone but not too horribly. Just a bit disappointed about the missing lyrics in the booklet.

If you can get it for 25 bucks or less, it should do the trick until you get a '320' pressing.


January 7, 2018

Phenomenal pressing, the quality is crazy. Talk about a solid sounding album.


June 6, 2017
edited 11 months ago
Nice copy plays great for that money ... so do not remember Soundgarden always naturally sounds darker :-)


June 1, 2017
edited 12 months ago

The overall sound of this version is good, but unfortunately there is a noticeable glitch in "Like suicide". So annoying to pay big bucks for these "putrandommultipleof5here" aniversary pressings that lack any kind of quality control (ironically then they call it audiophile pressing).
By the way, R.I.P. Chris Cornell. So sad to lose such a talent.


March 29, 2017
Usually not a fan of GZ Vinyl pressings, but this one sounds good. Can't really fault the SQ, but I'm looking forward to comparing it to the 320 pressing if ever I get the opportunity


February 11, 2017

I grew up with the original LP (european blue vinyl LP) which now bacame very thin from the use (listened to it over 2500 times :-). But this one has KILLER SOUND. Compressed guitars - brighter drums & vocals. I don't know what to say which is 'better'...the only i can say is that i love this album. Nice remastered sound BUT i prefer the original front artwork - gatefold pictures.


November 17, 2016
Anyone have DR values for this reissue? How does it compare to the original vinyl release?


April 7, 2016
Very happy to have this 20th anniversary edition of Soundgarden's Superunknown on vinyl. Overall, it is a great pressing with good, clear sound. In particular, I noticed Matt Cameron's drumming and Chris Cornell's singing was more clear and, just in general, the vinyl sounds much better than the CD release. Very happy overall. My problem with this is the booklet included. As other reviewers have said, I am also missing the lyrics to some of the tracks, so do be aware of that. Anyhow, apart from this, a great reissue. Sounds great.


October 10, 2015
Is your copy also missing the lyrics for Mailman, Superunknown, Head Down and Black Hole Sun?


August 17, 2015
My record 1 is not flat.. yours ?