Sparks ‎– Introducing Sparks

Columbia ‎– PC 34901
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 A Big Surprise 3:42
A2 Occupation 5:17
A3 Ladies 3:06
A4 I'm Not 3:26
A5 Forever Young 3:27
B1 Goofing Off 4:26
B2 Girls On The Brain 3:41
B3 Over The Summer 3:50
B4 Those Mysteries 5:03

Companies, etc.


Other Versions (5 of 17) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CBS 82284 Sparks Introducing Sparks(LP) CBS CBS 82284 UK 1977 Sell This Version
CBS 82284 Sparks Introducing Sparks(LP, Album) CBS CBS 82284 Europe 1977 Sell This Version
PC 34901 Sparks Introducing Sparks(LP, Album, Promo) Columbia PC 34901 US 1977 Sell This Version
COE110, COE 110 Sparks Introducing Sparks(CDr, Album, RE, Unofficial) COE Records (2), COE Records (2) COE110, COE 110 Russia 2004 Sell This Version
LBRCDRON Sparks Introducing Sparks(CD, Album) Lil' Beethoven Records LBRCDRON UK 2006 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 25, 2016
The name is very misleading as it's Sparks's 7th album (or 5th if you ignore the Halfnelson discs). At this stage the band was well past the storming success of Kimono My House which had established them in the UK as a major act, and the title seems to be a reference to their attempt to re-establish themselves in the USA. Although reviews at the time slammed the record and suggested that "Goofing Off" (the 6th track) was somehow a summing up of the band's attitude, this is grossly unfair. Listening again nearly 30 years later, "Introducing..." is in fact one of the best albums of the band's career, full of the Maels' characteristic wit and musical variety - some great guitar work and not a glimmer of the Euro Synth-pop that was to follow. Deserves to be rehabilitated and celebrated (unlike their genuinely terrible 1988 disc "Interior Design")