The Speaking Canaries ‎– Songs For The Terrestrially Challenged

Mind Cure Records ‎– MC1202, Mind Cure Records ‎– Mind Cure 1202
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Numbered, Yellow Marbled

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Little Ice Queen
A2 Super Hit
A3 Houses And Houses
A4 Our War On Cool Pt. 2
B1 De-Effect / Diminished
B2 Summer's Empty Resolution
B3 Terrestrial / Famous No Space
C1 When Cats Fight / Let Loose Of Me
C2 Secrets
Written-By – Van Halen
C3 El Rancho
C4.1 Hall Of Force
C4.2 Gone Bad
Written-By – Van Halen
C4.3 So Glad
Written-By – Skip James
C4.4 Reprise
D1 Any Three Days
D2 Guitar Strings For A Holocaust



"Low-fi version" - Colored Vinyl: An alternate, lower-fidelity recording of Songs For The Terrestrially Challenged was released by Mind Cure Records in 1995, roughly concurrent with the release of the "hi-fi version" on Scat Records.

The "low-fi version" is available only as a double LP in a limited edition of five hundred copies. 100 of which were on Yellow vinyl. Each copy has liner notes handwritten by Dave Martin of Mind Cure Records and 3x5" photographic prints glued inside the gatefold record sleeve at random spots.

Recorded and Mixed August 8, 9 & 10 1993 at High "Soundtrap" Noon Studios, Boston, MA.
Mastered at Musicol, Columbus, OH by John.
The original master tapes to this record were lost, stolen or thrown out. All that remained was a cassette dub that was transferred to DAT by Wayne.
Suggestion: Play through Speakers

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Other (Runout Groove): MIND CURE 1202 SIDE A Sometimes Yummy Would Come Up to You And Ask You For 50 ¢
  • Other (Runout Groove): MIND CURE 1202 SIDE B And When You'd Give It To Him
  • Other (Runout Groove): MIND CURE SIDE C 1202 If He could Tell You Were Scared
  • Other (Runout Groove): MIND CURE 1202 SIDE D He'd Ask You For Another 50 ¢