Sprung Aus Den Wolken ‎– The Story Of Electricity

Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Shakin Your Body
Guitar – Alexander Hacke
A2 Röck-N-Röll
Voice – Thierry Noir
A3 Lion - Could Be Me 3:24
A4 RoundAndAroundShadow 2:52
A5 Electricity Break 1:36
A6 D.J.-D.J. 2:43
A7 Could Be You - Lion 3:15
A8 Body Your Shakin 3:40
B1 Itch I-Ni-San-Shi 1:53
B2 All To Yah Cosma 3:00
B3 Be Quiet 2:41
B4 Shadow Knows 1:39
B5 Lion
Guitar – Luciano CastelliVoice [Japanese By] – Shinobu NomulaVoice [Senegal Words] – Jimmy Moussa Sarr
B6 D.J.D.J.D.J. .Bow 3:29
B7 Cosma 3:37

Companies, etc.



Imprimé en France

Comes with a printed inner sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A - etched): MPO AM DSA 54009 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B - etched): MPO DSA- 54009 B AM
  • Rights Society: SACEM SDRM SACD SGDL
  • Other (Distribution code): NR 350
  • Other (Distribution code): DS 451



Add Review



June 2, 2012
My first impressions were that this album is a more approachable version of EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN, then I though no!, this is closer to TEST DEPT. Now I’m not sure at all. Overall it’s probably far more commercial than either, but should appeal to the same people.
The opening track "Shakin Your Body" is a sort of Cyberpunk thing - simplistic, but heavy & catchy, and the kind of thing to woo even the most sluggish onto the dance floor. “Röck-N-Röll" opens with almost ritualistic / orgiastic gasps, then the bludgeoning barrage of drums thunder in, bringing to mind the above mentioned groups in all their machine-logic glory - makes you think the BPM is in four figures. “Lion - Could Be Me” is an angry track opening with lunatic human animal-in-pain sounds. The question, put in an almost forced, false style asks a poignant question - just ‘what the fuck is the lion doing in the zoo?’ The music is medium-fast, seemingly simple, but hard and heavy. Further swearing and human monkey impressions introduce the calmer-tempo of "RoundAndAroundShadow", again the drums hard, constant, militaristic, head-kick-heavy while the vocalist rants over the top. "Electricity Break" is a spoken (or should I say shouted) piece which sounds a little forced (perhaps the vocalist has trouble shouting in a second language & sounding genuine simultaneously). "D.J.-D.J." is one of the more composed things on the album with meandering bassline and horn section blasts. After about 2 minutes this piece cedes to allow a pulsing jungle rhythm to raise it’s head. "Could Be You - Lion" is a more dense, driving, full version of the third track. "Body Your Shakin'" is an alternative version of the opening track, perhaps not as driving & compulsive, but still powerful. "Itch I-Ni-San-Shi” is a slow but strong piece, in the same vein as IGGY POP’s "Nightclubbing" not it a lyrical or vocal sense, but the music is darker & stronger. "All To Yah Cosma" is a straightforward piece, dense and medium-paced with emphasis on the machine-like snare. "Be Quiet" has Jimmy Moussa Sarr’s ‘Senegal words’ (I assume) introducing it before turning into a dense, thrashing, mad maelstrom of fast machine rhythm which would please anyone who likes TEST DEPT at their most fast and furious. Sticking with a TEST DEPT flavour. "Shadow Knows" is a military / factory strict version of "RoundAndAround-Shadow", fast and brutal with some interesting twists & turns. "Lion", as might be guessed is a version of "Lion - Could Be Me", this time less dense & with minimal vocals. "D.J.D.J.D.J. .Bow" is another version of “D.J. - D.J.”, this one with less emphasis on the horn punctuation. Computerized voice (Speak & Spell?) repeats the title often while the vocalist rants over the top. It changes direction, but not theme, midstream. "Cosma" opens with the guitar sample from the opening track, played over the rhythm from "All To Yah Cosma" - a nice idea - it works well either way - certainly an imaginative mix & match track. Next up come three tracks from a previous 12” release. "Que Pa” is based on non-distorted guitar, a little piece of almost Folk-like music & surprisingly effective despite it’s difference to the previous music. “Que Pa (minimal)” comes next, being completely different, an edgy Industrial thing, built on a slow, steady, slamming beat - and is probably one of the best tracks on the album - Kiddy Citny keeping his voice as low as Michael Gira might in such a dark alleyway of sound. "Pas Attendre (extended version)" closes the album, opening on a tuneful strumming guitar piece, then melting into a medium-slow Industrial piece, crossing style barriers with impressive ease.

SPRUNG AUS DEN WOLKEN might conceivably be the missing link between the likes of EN & TD on the one hand, and the EBM / Technocore camp on the other, taking various other styles in their stride . Get someone to play a little to you - you might just get hooked.

Originally reviewed for Soft Watch.