Stagefright ‎– D-Day

Aard-Vark Recording ‎– AV 3112
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Comin' Home 3:27
A2 3.2 3:17
A3 Keep On Believin' 5:03
A4 Keep On Runnin' 5:24
A5 Starchild 4:15
B1 Notice Me 3:05
B2 Ozark Mountains 4:21
B3 Put Your Good Foot Out 3:29
B4 I'm So Ashamed (Baby) 5:24
B5 D-Day 5:01

Companies, etc.



All songs written and arranged by Stagefright. Recorded at Aard-Vark Studios, Springfield, MO. A Chicken House Production (C) 1980 Stagefright.

For Booking info, Write Stagefright, 124 Meridian, Carthage, MO 64836

A4 is listed as "Keep On Runnin'" on the back and "Keep Runnin" on the label

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side Runout): AV-3112-A MI-S
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side Runout): AV-3112-B MI-S


Add Review



January 13, 2016
This was the first ‘collectable’ album I ever bought. 'Course at the time I didn’t know it was collectable, which may explain why I paid $2 for it. Ah, the ignorance of youth.
So how to describe this one? Perhaps the best description is that this one serves as a textbook example of a good bar band in action, although these guys sounded a bit older than most of their contemporaries and they actually seem to have had more talent and enthusiasm
The force behind the band was apparently singer/drummer Jim Mills. Mills paid his bills working as a DJ (Jim Jefferson) at Carlisle, PA’s WHYL. The rest of the line up consisted of guitarist Terry Brady who made his living as a printer. Guitarist Augie Dietz managed a carpet department in a home furnishings store. Bassist Terry Calaman was a home remodeler. Together the four friends (along with horn players Chet Nace and Ed Strohm) started playing dances and clubs throughout central Pennsylvania.

1970 saw them record and release the self-produced "The Many Moods of the New Breed”. Released on their own New Breed label (one assumes they sold copies at their live shows), the album offered up a mixture of nifty original numbers and popular soul and pop hits. Opening an album with a cover of 'Shotgun’ probably wasn’t the most original move in the book, but these guys managed to make it work. Propelled by Mills frantic drumming and his enthusiastic blue-eyed soul vocals (to my ears he sounded a little like the guy in The Flaming Ember who sang 'Westbound # 9’), the result was one of the better Motown covers I’ve heard. As good as the group’s covers were, the five Brady and Mills penned originals were even better. The only original on the first side, the molten 'Rockbustin Blues’ served to show these guys were rockers at heart. Showcasing a great fuzz lead guitar, side two started out with another winner in the form of the blues-rocker Mississippi Delta’ (crank it up), while the other three originals on side two were just as good. The only disappointment was the closer “Never Ending Song of Love” which sounded like it was being performed for an audience of polka fans - don’t think Delaney and Bonnie would pick it as their favorite cover version. Not an album for anyone looking for sophistication and cutting edge creativity. Their blue-eyed soul moves ('When Something Is Wrong with My Baby’) probably wouldn’t appeal to hardcore rock fans and there were also occasional horns that would put off some folks. On the other hand they sounded like they were having fun throughout the collection. All told one of my favorite finds and a group I bet was a ton of fun to hear at a local club !!!................full album......................