Static North ‎– Static North

Not On Label ‎– none
CD, Album


1 Westbound 4:20
2 Stubborn Tiny Lights 6:18
3 More Life 6:36
4 Adcreep 5:42
5 Ours, That Night Got Away From Us 6:25
6 Timing (Is Fucking Everything) 7:48



Mastered at Lacquer Channel, May 2007.


Add Review



May 14, 2008

Static North is a criminally obscure artist from Toronto, Canada. The debut is a six track, self-title album that creates a unique type of ambient music by fusing elements of ethereal, shoegazer and drone.

The songs are built using an almost soothing, ongoing feedback, mixed with shoegazer type guitar work. Occasionally a subtle bass line moves the tracks along. The whole album is extremely beautiful in composition. The tracks have a much more song oriented structure than a typical ambient album, which actually makes it very easy to pay attention to. The artist describes on his Myspace an interest in ethereal music, and it really shows. There is a certain Projekt Records sensibility present, though it differs in that there is a serious post-rock influence present as well.

The music is cold and crisp, but very much alive and reminds me of the Aurora Borealis. It is difficult to draw comparisons with this album, but I'd recommend Static North to anyone who likes Lycia, particularly their 1997 Bleak side project. It might also appeal to anyone who enjoys Clint Mansell's soundtrack to "The Fountain". Static North is a much more subdued and minimal than these works, but it carries a similar mood and style.