Stephan Mathieu ‎– FrequencyLib

Ritornell ‎– RIT23
CD, Album


1 Stars 0:57
2 Day Is Young 1:19
3 Clear Spot 0:58
4 Monkey 1:49
5 Mrs. Moon 1:58
6 Blue Like You 0:31
7 Snow 1:01
8 Home In My Shoes 1:23
9 Vivement Dimanche! 1:26
10 Andi 0:16
11 Eyes Closed 1:26
12 hPassage 0:52
13 Bright Above Me 0:53
14 Right Place 1:40
15 Westend 1:04
16 iPassage 1:57
17 Für Frans 6:29
18 Two Nights 3:53
19 Happy Glow 2:15
20 The Stomach Room 2:10
21 Moments In Love 1:22
22 Tall Like A Tree 0:54
23 Out Of Cigarettes 0:57
24 Sad Fast Car 1:11
25 Some Of Today 1:44
26 Gut Nacht 2:40

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed ByEFA – EFA 14873-2



Produced in Pixelland between 11.2000 and 03.2001. All source files from the public domain. Processed with Soundhack, Argeïphontes Lyre, Max/Msp and Protools Free.

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RIT 023 LP Stephan Mathieu FrequencyLib(LP, Album) Ritornell RIT 023 LP Germany 2001 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 20, 2014

The short loops that make up Stephan Mathieu's FREQUENCYLIB, come from many sources, from the folk guitar of "Stars" to the echoing piano of "Monkey," but they all dance upon the ear for a moment before disappearing altogether. Mathieu isn't interested in 'songs,' per se, but more about the processing the individual sounds that make up what we would consider a song. The twitching of "Mrs. Moon," for instance, resists resolution, while the tones of "Vivement Dimanche!" hang in the air. The single long piece here, "Für Frans," engages more with the loops, creating more of a mood and space, as does the atmospheric "Two Nights," but short is still the order of the day. The more abstract buzzes of "Right Place" and the hums and clicking of "iPassage" or the decay of "Some of Today" emphasize the experimental nature of this project even more. But the blast of melody from "Moments In Love" or the carnival-whirrings of "Tall Like a Tree" or even the easy listening loop of "Gut Nacht" help bring the sounds to a more emotional place too. A challenging album, but not without its merits.