Sufjan Stevens ‎– Illinois

Asthmatic Kitty Records ‎– AKR 014, Sounds Familyre ‎– none
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Repress

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Concerning The UFO Sighting Near Highland, Illinois
Backing Vocals – Katrina Kerns, Shara Worden
A2 The Black Hawk War, Or, How To Demolish An Entire Civilization And Still Feel Good About Yourself In The Morning, Or, We Apologize For The Inconvenience But You're Going To Have To Leave Now, Or, "I Have Fought The Big Knives And Will Continue To Fight Them Until They Are Off Our Lands!"
Choir – The Illinoisemaker Choir
Come On! Feel The Illinoise!
A3.1 Part I: The World's Columbian Exposition
Backing Vocals – Katrina Kerns, Shara Worden
A3.2 Part II: Carl Sandburg Visits Me In A Dream
Ensemble – The String Quartet (5)
A4 John Wayne Gacy, Jr.
Backing Vocals – Shara Worden
A5 Jacksonville
Backing Vocals – Katrina KernsEnsemble – The String Quartet (5)
A6 A Short Reprise For Mary Todd, Who Went Insane, But For Very Good Reasons
Ensemble – The String Quartet (5)
B7 Decatur, Or, Round Of Applause For Your Stepmother!
Backing Vocals – Matt MorganBacking Vocals, Handclaps [Clap] – Daniel Smith, Elin Smith*Choir – The Illinoisemaker Choir
B8 One Last "Whoo-Hoo!" For The Pullman
B9 Go! Chicago! Go! Yeah!
Choir – The Illinoisemaker ChoirEnsemble – The String Quartet (5)
B10 Casimir Pulaski Day
Backing Vocals – Shara Worden
B11 To The Workers Of The Rock River Valley Region, I Have An Idea Concerning Your Predicament, And It Involves Tube Socks, A Paper Airplane, And Twenty-Two Able-Bodied Men
C12 The Man Of Metropolis Steals Our Hearts
Choir – The Illinoisemaker Choir
C13 Prairie Fire That Wanders About
Backing Vocals – Katrina Kerns, Shara Worden
C14 A Conjunction Of Drones Simulating The Way In Which Sufjan Stevens Has An Existential Crisis In The Great Godfrey Maze
C15 The Predatory Wasp Of The Palisades Is Out To Get Us!
Backing Vocals – Katrina Kerns, Shara Worden
C16 They Are Night Zombies!! They Are Neighbors!! They Have Come Back From The Dead!! Ahhhh!
Choir – The Illinoisemaker ChoirEnsemble – The String Quartet (5)Vocals [Sings] – Craig Montoro
C17 Let's Hear That String Part Again, Because I Don't Think They Heard It All The Way Out In Bloomington-Normal
C18 In This Temple As In The Hearts Of Man For Whom He Saved The Earth
D19 The Seer's Tower
Backing Vocals – Katrina Kerns, Shara Worden
The Tallest Man, The Broadest Shoulders
D20.1 Part I: The Great Frontier
Backing Vocals – Katrina Kerns, Shara WordenChoir – The Illinoisemaker ChoirEnsemble – The String Quartet (5)
D20.2 Part II: Come To Me Only With Playthings Now
Backing Vocals – Katrina Kerns, Shara WordenEnsemble – The String Quartet (5)
D21 Riffs And Variations On A Single Note For Jelly Roll, Earl Hines, Louis Armstrong, Baby Dodds, And The King Of Swing, To Name A Few
D22 Out Of Egypt, Into The Great Laugh Of Mankind, And I Shake The Dirt From My Sandals As I Run
D23 The Avalanche
Backing Vocals – Katrina Kerns, Shara Worden

Companies, etc.



Tracks are numbered consecutively regardless of sides (as they appear on the release)
Full-length titles from back cover are used
Abbreviated titles are given on the vinyl labels and the insert
D23 is a vinyl bonus track

©℗ 2005 Asthmatic Kitty Records
© 2005 New Jerusalem Music / ASCAP
Asthmatic Kitty is distributed by arrangement with Sounds Familyre

All songs recorded/engineered/produced by Sufjan Stevens (Fall 2004 - Winter 2005)
James McAlister had a lot to do with the way the drums sound because he set up the microphones
All arrangements (painstakingly composed) by Sufjan Stevens
Mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music, Tenafly, NJ
AcousTech Mastering and Record Technology Incorporated credits taken from runouts

• Most of the songs were recorded at The Buddy Project (Astoria, Queens) with gratefulness to Kieran Kelly
• Many of the quiet parts were recorded at Sufjan's apartment in Brooklyn
• The piano was recorded in the dead of night at St. Paul's Episcopal Church, in Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn
• The string quartet was recorded at Marla's apartment in Washington Heights
• Matt Morgan's vocals were recorded in Red Hook, Brooklyn
• The electric organ was recorded at the New Jerusalem Recreational Room in Clarksboro, NJ
• The vibraphone was recorded at Carroll Music Studios, New York City

Double gatefold cover
Includes photo insert with lyrics and credits

• This is the 2nd pressing, which has balloons on the front cover (a homage to the balloon sticker used to hide the Superman artwork of the 1st pressing)
• Also, on the back cover, the police cars now have Illinois license plates "AKR014" and "A NO NO"
• Although the official album title is "Illinois", the cover art reads "Sufjan Stevens invites you to: Come on feel the ILLINOISE"

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Sticker): 6 56605 89261 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1, Etched): AKR-014LP-A, 14855.1(2)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2, Etched): AKR-014LP-B, 14855.2(2)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 3, Etched): AKR-014LP-B [Scratched out] C, 14855.3(2)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 4, Etched): AKR-014LP-D, 14855.4(2)
  • Matrix / Runout (All Sides, Etched): KG@ATM
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 25) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
AKR 014, none Sufjan Stevens Illinois(2xLP, Album, Sup) Asthmatic Kitty Records, Sounds Familyre AKR 014, none US 2005 Sell This Version
AKR014, PCD-23635 Sufjan Stevens Illinoise(CD, Album) Asthmatic Kitty Records, P-Vine Records AKR014, PCD-23635 Japan 2005 Sell This Version
RTRADLP250 Sufjan Stevens Illinois(2xLP, Album, Sup) Rough Trade RTRADLP250 Europe 2005 Sell This Version
AKR 014 Sufjan Stevens Sufjan Stevens Invites You To: Come On Feel The Illinoise(2xLP, Album, MP, RP, Tri) Asthmatic Kitty Records AKR 014 US 2015 Sell This Version
CYCLE 027 Sufjan Stevens Sufjan Stevens Invites You To: Come On Feel The Illinoise(CD, Album) Cycle (2) CYCLE 027 Benelux 2005 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



November 2, 2018
I agree with the other comments, but I’m trying to figure out why this sounds better than my 2016 version. It sounds softer to my ear, and more laid back, compared to the harsher, punchier 2016 pressing. Depends what sound you’re looking for, I guess, but I definitely enjoy the silky sound of this version a bit more than the other version I have. Both are great though, in my opinion!


July 14, 2017
One of the best sounding pressings I've ever heard. Simply incredible.


April 5, 2015

A beautiful artwork AND record. for the best from him besides CARRIE........


June 29, 2013
The Tri-fold vinyl sounds AMAZING. Great release and great artwork. So solid. Pick this record up for your collection ASAP.


January 22, 2012
The title of the album is simply 'Illinois' (see the CD spine) - the 'Invites you to...' is just part of the excellent artwork. The UK release (on Rough Trade) sports the cover you display above - no Superman anywhere.