Sun Palace ‎– Raw Movements / Rude Movements

BBE ‎– BBE389ALP, Halfway Ritmo ‎– BBE389ALP
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album


Raw Movements
A1 Raw Movements 5:52
A2 Love Train II 4:47
A3 Palace Strut 4:10
B1 Coral Reef 4:52
B2 Street Beat 4:41
B3 What's The Time 5:53
Rude Movements
C1 Rude Movements 7:49
C2 Movement I 6:10
D1 Movement II 7:40
D2 Movement III 7:59

Companies, etc.



'Unreleased tracks & demos + original studio recordings'.
Gatefold sleeve. Made in the E.U.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Label Code: LC 15287
  • Barcode: 730003138911
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): BBE389ALP-A The Carvery -41633-
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): BBE389ALP-B The Carvery -41633-
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side C): BBE389ALP-[Scratched "B"] C -41634- The Carvery
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side D): BBE389ALP-D The Carvery -41634-

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



April 24, 2018

So good!! At least 10 more 4 more etc et


January 6, 2018
Bummer that “I’m Going To Lie Down” didn’t make the vinyl


January 21, 2017
What a reissue!?!?!? I can easily call this the reissue of 2016! ''Rude Movements'' seems not to be one of my favorite Balearic before Balearic tunes but one of all times favourite tune and i'm totaly amused here with its demo version. Extra funky raw sound:ed boogie sound of ''Palace Strut'' is a killer while the jazzed Latin late 80s house sound of ''Soul Vibes'' is another surprise on the release.


December 6, 2016
Seriously amazing compilation of mostly unheard/unreleased music from Sun Palace. I only have the vinyl but will buy the CDs now to hear more. The 'Raw Movements' original demo is a revelation, as are the other two tracks on Side A: 'What's The Time' and 'I'm Going To Lie Down'. But the whole thing is incredible. Essential. Destined to be a classic release in its own right. 10/10 BBE & Halfway Ritmo. (Makes you wonder if there are unheard/unreleased Atmosfear/Powerline tracks from the same era.)


December 1, 2016
For years, I've been longing to hear more music under the "Sun Palace" moniker, new or appears my dream has finally come true.

This double vinyl companion set to the simultaneously released cd, "Raw Movements" (minus about 7 of the cd's tracks) is a feast for the ears.

On Record #1, we are treated to a slew of previously unreleased gems!

First off, we have "Raw Movements", which is the rough demo which eventually spawned our beloved classic.
The drum machine pattern is slightly different, but very similar. The lead synth lines veer off into an almost experimental place, with even more "Rude" notes than what made it into the final version. Mike's trademark rhythm guitar is here, exploring the nucleus of what would be some of the most memorable and unique rhythm guitar lines (which we hear on the final mix of "Rude Movements").

Next up is "Love Train II". Nice tr-808 groove sets in motion this wistful and funky piece of music, which (sonics not withstanding) is a very mellow track, which might not have been out of place on a local "Smooth Jazz" station.
There is an absence of any discernible bass-line here, telling us that this piece was never quite finished, however I seem to enjoy it as it stands.

"Palace Strut" is a slightly more uptempo groove. Again, we are greeted by Mike's TR-808 holding down the rock-solid groove!
This piece seems more fleshed out than the previous track, and has even more smooth jazz elements, namely Mike's lead Jazz guitar solos, and Keith's jazzy synth flourishes.

On Side B of this record, things kick off with "Coral Reef". The intro has the TR-808 once again, but this time bare. The pattern is quite reminiscent of Paul Hardcastle's "Rainforest" (1984), but once the arrangement kicks in, the similarities promptly end.
This track is minimal, dark, & funky. I love it just as it is.
The huge, warm synth pads/chords coupled with Mike's jazzy lead guitar riffs make this another feast for our ears.

"Street Beat" with it's incessant TR-707 rhythm pattern, grabbed my ear straight away. This one seems more dominated by Keith's synth parts than Mike's guitars, though Mike does throw down his unmistable rhythm picking!
The fat bass-line here gels it all together is a funky minimal way.

Side B closes out with "What's the Time", which can sort of be seen as a musical "answer" to "Rude Movements".
The TR-808 grooves us once again, and Keith's rhodes comping (on the verse sections) is strikingly similar to what we hear on "Rude Movements", and this is not at all a bad thing!
The synth flourishes do make this an entirely different experience overall. I really like the "bridge" sections on this piece.

Record #2 is dedicated to the Classic "Rude Movements" and ALL it's variations.

This mix of "Rude Movements" is only minutely different from the released version, and is titled "Remaster". I am happy to have this mix, and in stellar sound quality (from the original master tapes) to boot.

"Winning" is also included here, and appears to be the same exact mix as on the original Passion U.K. 12".

On Side B, we have some new variations.

"Movement II (reconstruction)" appears to utilize the tracks to "Winning", but with added live drums, bass guitar, & flute.
This discofied take on "Winning" gives it an entire new vibe and mood..dare I say, a FUNKIER one?
"Movement III (completion)" resembles neither "Rude..." or "Winning" very much, though there are some remnants. What we have here is a stripped-down, minimal disco vibe, again with added live drums & bass guitar. (possibly some new rhythm guitar as well)
This mix will appeal to disco/nu disco DJ's's perfect for a funky, mid-tempo disco set. I almost would say this was recorded in 1978, if I did not know better.
Overall, I am extremely delighted with this compilation, and I can tell you with the utmost conviction that it was worth the wait!

Now, I must grab a copy of the cd, as it includes many more tracks.