Sunfields ‎– Habitat

Exit Sign Music ‎– ESM003
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Ghost
A2 Modern Day Kid
A3 Sentimal Day Kid
A4 Oh! Dear Mother
5A Kiss Shy
B1 Prairie Girls
B2 Drunken Choir
B3 Hungry Animals
B4 Mumbled Words
B5 Here Come That Dream Again
B6 Belly Of The Sun


Edition of 100

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: ESM 003 A


Add Review



December 12, 2017
edited 5 months ago

Delivered as a limited edition of one hundred on 180 gram black vinyl with a wrap-around cover, the Canadian band Sunfields present a well created warm and structured album that while sounding fresh and new, has its roots deeply embedded in the countrified sounds of Fleetwood Mac and The Eagles … though I get the feeling that they’re one of the few people who managed to discover Chris Laterzo & Buffalo Robe nearly a decade ago, creating outstanding music suitable for any day under the California sun.

Here on Habitat, Sunfields have mixed splendid guitar chords that are laced with just enough bits of fuzz and controlled light handed distortion to bring out the essential sound their sonically perfect Vox guitars are capable of achieving, allowing them to come off contemporary, and at times downright gorgeous (especially on the song "Ghost") with their take on low-keyed alternative country folkiness, resounding with impressively solid lyrics that are haunting backed by a floating vintage inspired electric piano, along with a sustained backbeat that holds everything in check, keeping the band from wandering.

All of that being said, Habitat comes across as a mixed bag of material devoid of a central theme. Nevertheless, many of the songs crash like waves onto the beach, with others such as "Prairie Girls" bringing to mind the spirit of Neil Young’s early solo work, resounding as rolling anthems, spacious and creative enough to fill any auditorium. Yet when one listens to tracks such as "Ghost" or "Drunken Choir", as good as the other material is, you’ll be left scratching your head wondering as to why they couldn’t find their way to create an album filled with songs as relentlessly intoxicating as those.

Review by Jenell Kesler