The Supremes ‎– Stoned Love

Music For Pleasure ‎– MFP 50421
Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Together We Can Make Such Sweet Music
A2 Stoned Love
A3 It's Time To Break Down
A4 I Wish I Were Your Mirror
A5 Here Come The Sunrise
A6 This Is The Story
A7 River Deep, Mountain High
B1 Nathan Jones
B2 Come Together
B3 Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye
B4 Thank Him For Today
B5 Bridge Over Troubled Water
B6 Love It Came To Me This Time
B7 Bad Weather

Companies, etc.



Printed and made in Great Britain.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A (stamped)): SMFP 50421 A - 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B (stamped)): SMFP 50421 B - 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A and B (scratched)): Nick W
  • Other (Label Side A): SMFP 50421A
  • Other (Label Side B): SMFP 50421B

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



April 4, 2009
I have this LP which came out in the mid-70s. The last track on side 2, Bad Weather, was published in 1973. So 1971 is too early for it to have been released. I would probably have been too young to have bought it then anyway.

Highlights are Bridge Over Troubled Water at a slow, mellow pace, without becoming more R&B like Aretha Franklin's more animated cover version. This album also has a Supremes' cover of The Beatles' Come Together as well as some of their more widely available/known hits. You can still find this LP on retro sites but maybe one more for the collector.

The version of Stoned Love on this album I think is better than that on some other "greatest hits" albums as is Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye.

This is a budget compilation of their work post Diana Ross & The Supremes which still showcases The Supremes' vocal skills and harmonies really well. MFP were a budget label under EMI who rereleased material for budget/chain stores such as the now demised Woolworths. Some of the lesser known tracks may have been B sides at one time but at a budget price, the album was certainly worth it back then.