The Supremes ‎– We Remember Sam Cooke

Motown ‎– MOTD-5495

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 You Send Me 2:44
2 Nothing Can Change This Love 2:27
3 Cupid 2:38
4 Chain Gang 2:44
5 Bring It On Home To Me 2:51
6 Only Sixteen 2:19
7 Havin' A Party 2:33
8 Shake 2:37
9 Wonderful World 2:43
10 A Change Is Gonna Come 2:11
11 Good News
Lead Vocals – Florence Ballard

Companies, etc.



Notation on CD label indicates that track 11 is a bonus track
Recordings origianly released in 1964

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 050109549528
  • Matrix / Runout: MOTD5495 L1407F

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MT 629 The Supremes We Remember Sam Cooke(LP, Album, Mono) Motown MT 629 US 1965 Sell This Version
MO-629 The Supremes We Remember Sam Cooke(LP, Album, Mono) Tamla Motown MO-629 Canada 1965 Sell This Version
CSJ-464 The Supremes We Remember Sam Cooke(LP, Album, Unofficial, Red) 中聲 CSJ-464 Taiwan 1965 Sell This Version
MW046 Diana Ross & The Supremes Diana Ross & The Supremes - We Remember Sam Cooke(CD, Album, RE) Motown MW046 Spain 2001 Sell This Version
MGGO S-9457 The Supremes We Remember Sam Cooke(LP, Album) Tamla Motown MGGO S-9457 Netherlands 1965 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



May 18, 2016

While it goes without saying that The Supremes didn't eclipse any of Sam Cooke's original classics on this LP, it still serves as a credible tribute - depending on your taste that is. Diana Ross' sumptuous vocals complement most of the material here and Florence Ballard gets to step into the spotlight for an excellent version of '(Ain't That) Good News'. It's a shame that at the time this was viewed as a rather crass cash-in following Cooke's tragic death, but judged on its own merit, it's an enjoyable album and one that has since received more critical recognition than it did at the time of its release.

Exceptional covers include 'You Send Me', 'Bring It On Home To Me' and 'Chain Gang'.


March 20, 2016
The passing of Sam Cooke (at the end of 1964) prior to this CD's original vinyl album release was a jolt and loss to the music industry. A few months later, the Supremes release a tribute consisting of a compilation of his more popular tunes. It is one of the trio's best works outside of their more familiar hits. This CD version brings back the original album in a digital format.

Diana Ross provides her elegant talent with the leading vocals. Mary Wilson and Florence Ballard are lively and can be heard quite clearly with their vocalizations along side Diana. Every track is familiar and there are some that will keep bouncing around inside the listener's head long after playing them. Such as "You Send Me," "Cupid," "Havin' A Party," "Shake," and "(What A) Wonderful World."

Florence takes the lead vocals on "(Ain't That) Good News" (with Diana and Mary performing back up) and knocks her powerful upbeat rendition right out of the park! It is one moment in which Florence can showcase her wonderfully gifted voice.

The selection of tracks and the terrific performance of the Supremes would make Sam Cooke himself very proud.