Surface ‎– Surface

Columbia ‎– BFC 40374, Columbia ‎– C 40374
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Let's Try Again 3:55
A2 Happy 4:00
A3 We're All Searchin' 4:32
A4 Lately 4:05
A5 Gotta Make Love Tonight 4:10
B1 Who Loves You 3:58
B2 You're Fine 3:27
B3 Lady Wants A Man
Co-producer, Arranged By, Engineer – David Rivkin
B4 Girls Were Made To Love 4:48
B5 Feels So Good 3:47


  • Composed By, Arranged By, ProducerSurface


BFC 40374 appears on the spine
C 40374 appears on the vinyl labels

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): AL 40374
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): BL 40374
  • Barcode (Scanned): 074644037418

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FTG 308, 88725451942 Surface Surface(CD, Album, RE, RM, Exp) Funky Town Grooves, Columbia, Sony Music Commercial Music Group FTG 308, 88725451942 US 2012 Sell This Version
450099 4 Surface Surface(Cass, Album) Columbia 450099 4 UK 1986 Sell This Version
450099 1 Surface Surface(LP, Album) CBS 450099 1 UK 1986 Sell This Version
CK 40374 Surface Surface(CD, Album) Columbia CK 40374 US 1988 Sell This Version
SICP 5510 Surface Surface(CD, Album, RE, RM) Sony Records Int'l SICP 5510 Japan 2017 Sell This Version



Add Review



February 3, 2010
edited over 7 years ago

One of the best R&B albums of the 80's and one of the most soulful for sure. Supported by Bernard Jackson's remarkable vocal performance, this record is pure class from start to finish. You'll find a lot of captivating ballads here, but let's not forget the mid-tempo classic Happy with its crisp 808-driven beat and the even more wonderful Feels So Good, an upbeat and punchy final number backed up by a gorgeous melody. Simply flawless.