Sväng ‎– Hauptbahnof

CD, Album


1 Jampparaleele 4:48
2 Tango de la Abuelita 4:10
3 Humaljärvi 5:20
4 Svängarska Kopanitsa 4:02
5 Muromskin tiellä 3:22
6 Hoijakat 4:33
7 Koi No Vacance 2:37
8 Haidukka 4:51
9 Kua kua kome kiki? 4:09
10 Pääskysen polska 3:00
11 Hedwig's Theme 5:25
12 Moara 6:26
13 Kiiskellä kisaa 6:27
14 Svängtime Rag 3:55
15 I'm Gonna Meet My Mother In Glory 3:06
16 Howl's Moving Castle 5:31


Finnish harmonica quartet formed by Jouko Kyhälä, who teaches in the folk music department of Sibelius Academy, with two of his students, Eero Turkka, Eero Grundström, and Pasi Leino, formerly a member of another Finnish harmonica group, Raimo Sirkiä. Sväng plays Finnish folk music as well as folk themes from elsewhere in Scandinavian and Balkan regions. Much of the repertoire is composed by Turkka in the appropriate idiom although the contemporary style of their playing has helped attract a large audience. Grundström also composes and additionally is known as a keyboard player. Sväng's performances show a dynamic variety of styles, expanding on their folk roots to accommodate tango, ragtime and early jazz. Collectively, they use small and large chromatic, diatonic, harmonetta and bass instruments. The quartet has appeared successfully throughout Europe and has also visited Japan and the USA.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4250095800733