Sweetback ‎– Sweetback

Epic ‎– 485390 2, Epic ‎– EPC 485390 2
CD, Album, Stereo

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Gaze
Baritone Saxophone, Slide Guitar, Sounds [Space Echo], Programmed By – Stuart*Keyboards, Piano [Acoustic], Theremin, Programmed By, Sounds [Space Echo] – Andrew*Vocals – Amel LarrieuxWritten-By – Larrieux*, Hale*
2 Softly Softly
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes] – Andrew*Keyboards, Guitar, Programmed By – Stuart*Vocals – MaxwellWritten-By – Musze, Matthewman*
3 Sensations
Bass – Paul*Guitar, Baritone Saxophone, Keyboards, Programmed By – Stuart*Keyboards, Piano [Acoustic], Programmed By – Andrew*Written-By – Hale*, Matthewman*
4 Au Natural
Guitar, Programmed By – Stuart*Keyboards, Theremin, Programmed By – Andrew*Turntables – Alex TurnbullVocals – BahamadiaWritten-By – Hale*, Reed*, Matthewman*
5 Arabesque
Co-producer, Bass, Scratches [CD], Synth [Ems], Percussion, Programmed By – KUDOCo-producer, Guitar [Sonic Space], Synth [Arabic], Sounds [Echoplex], Percussion – Toshio*Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Percussion, Programmed By – Andrew*Written-By – Hale*, KUDO, Nakanishi*
6 You Will Rise
Bass – Paul*Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Keyboards [Minimoog], Programmed By – Andrew*Tenor Saxophone, Guitar [Bi-Phase], Keyboards, Programmed By – Stuart*Vocals, Arranged By [Vocal] – Amel LarrieuxWritten-By – Larrieux*, Hale*, Denman*, Matthewman*
7 Chord
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Piano [Acoustic], Programmed By – Andrew*Tenor Saxophone, Guitar, Keyboards, Programmed By – Stuart*Written-By – Hale*, Matthewman*
8 Walk Of Ju
Instruments – Stuart*Written-By – Matthewman*
9 Hope She'll Be Happier
Acoustic Bass – Paul*Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Piano [Acoustic] – Andrew*Guitar, Keyboards, Programmed By – Stuart*Vocals – Leroy OsbourneWritten-By – Withers*
10 Come Dubbing
Bass – Paul*Keyboards, Piano [Acoustic], Synth [Ems Vcs3], Programmed By – Andrew*Programmed By, Sounds [Space Echo] – Stuart*Written-By – Hale*, Joseph Conlan, Matthewman*, Tom Scott
11 Cloud People
Piano [Acoustic], Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Synth [Prophet 5, Pcm 42], Keyboards, Programmed By – Andrew*Soprano Saxophone, Guitar, Sounds [Space Echo], Programmed By – Stuart*Tabla – Talvin SinghWritten-By – Hale*, Matthewman*
12 Powder
Bass – Paul*Guitar, Sounds [Reverbs, Space Phone (Other End)], Tenor Saxophone – Stuart*Piano [Acoustic], Synth [Matrix 6], Sounds [Echoes, Space Phone (One End)] – Andrew*Written-By – Hale*, Denman*, Matthewman*

Companies, etc.



"Come Dubbing" contains elements from "Outzone" performed by Tom Scott used courtesy of GRP Records

Maxwell appears courtesy of Columbia Records
Bahmadia appears courtesy of Chrysalis Records, a division of EMI Records

© 1996 Sony Music Entertainment/℗ 1996 Sony Music Entertainment/Distribution Sony Music

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5099748539021
  • Label Code: 0199
  • Rights Society: SACEM/BIEM
  • Mastering SID Code (Variants 1 - 2): IFPI L551
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 94Y3
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 94I1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): Sony Music S0148539010-0101 11 A2

Other Versions (5 of 15) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ESCA 6609 Sweetback Sweetback(CD, Album) Epic ESCA 6609 Japan 1996 Sell This Version
none Sweetback Sweetback(Cass, Album, Promo) Epic none UK 1996 Sell This Version
E2S 8745-S1 Sweetback Sweetback(2x12", Album, Promo) Epic E2S 8745-S1 US 1996 Sell This Version
EK 67492 Sweetback Sweetback(CD, Album) Epic EK 67492 US 1996 Sell This Version
758.463/2-485390 Sweetback Sweetback(CD, Album) Epic 758.463/2-485390 Brazil 1996 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 11, 2004
edited over 14 years ago
If you know Sade, then you know that Sweetback is responsible for her music being her backup band.
Comprising of the three artists, their debut album was by far a knockout CD for me.
Featuring vocals from some well known singers, Amel Larrieux from Groove Theory fame, Maxwell and Bahamadia.
I think the Roots were also included somewhere in the CD (Bahamadia's song - Au Natural).
I found all the songs with vocals tended to be very good, in particular You Will Rise feat. Amel Larrieux. I have found a number of remixes for this song and they all sound superb.
Au Natural shows the range of Sweetback showing that they can produce good beats for a rap song.
In terms of their instrumental songs, they all seem to belong in movies which may bring a case of some muzak that you'll hear in elevators (reminiscent (sp) of Sade perhaps?), but the tracks with vocals definitely make the CD