Symphony X ‎– Iconoclast

Nuclear Blast ‎– NB 2462-0, Nuclear Blast ‎– 27361 24620
2 × CD, Album, Limited Edition, Digibook

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 27361 24620 4
  • Barcode (Scanned): 727361246204
  • Mastering SID Code (CD 1/CD 2): IFPI LR77
  • Mould SID Code (CD 1): IFPI UGAC
  • Mould SID Code (CD 2): IFPI UGAB
  • Matrix / Runout (CD 1): CAP01576 NB2462-01DLT 01 0MM Technicolor
  • Matrix / Runout (CD 2): CAP01575 NB2462-02DLT 01 0MM Technicolor
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 07027

Other Versions (5 of 13) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Symphony X Iconoclast(12xFile, AAC, Album) Nuclear Blast none 2011
ICARUS 1248 Symphony X Iconoclast(2xCD, Album, S/Edition) Icarus Music ICARUS 1248 Argentina 2014 Sell This Version
NB 2462-1, 27361 24621 Symphony X Iconoclast(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Blu) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast NB 2462-1, 27361 24621 Germany 2011 Sell This Version
NB 2462-2, 2462-2 Symphony X Iconoclast(CD, Album) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast NB 2462-2, 2462-2 US 2011 Sell This Version
NBR 0202 Symphony X Iconoclast(2xCD, Album, S/Edition) Nuclear Blast Records NBR 0202 Brazil 2011 Sell This Version



Add Review



October 12, 2018

2007’s ‘Paradise Lost’ is, in my opinion, one of the heaviest albums of all time, and having developed their sound over the years from a neo-classical progressive metal act to an extremely heavy, almost power metal-sounding band, it seems Symphony X have settled on a style that suits them perfectly, as ‘Iconoclast’, the bands eighth studio album, released in 2011, follows on from its predecessor as a possible candidate for one of the heaviest albums you’ll ever hear.

What makes Symphony X so heavy, you ask? While people measure heaviness in different ways, in my opinion, it’s the “weight” of the music. The production and the sound, and in this case, the massive and beefy-as-hell guitar riffs. ‘Iconoclast’ is like a ten-ton hammer crushing a thousand skulls at once, and incredibly, despite the sheer intensity and brutality, the album is full of wondrous and beautiful melodies too.

Taking the energy of power metal and the songwriting arrangements of progressive metal, Symphony X’s music is very upbeat and ambitious. With complex orchestrations and masterful musicianship, these guys are at the top of their game, and on par with the genres finest musicians. In particular, guitarist Michael Romeo and vocalist Russell Allen have an absolute synergy rarely seen these days, with Allen’s incredibly versatile range being a perfect match for the guitar riffs.

Released on two discs, or as a one-disc edition for people not willing to spend too much dollar (I wonder how many people actually bought that one), ‘Iconoclast’ is an incredible album with very few flaws. With absolute monstrous beasts such as ‘Electric Messiah’, ‘The End of Innocence’, ‘Bastards of the Machine’, ‘Dehumanized’, ‘Children of a Faceless God’ and ‘Reign in Madness’, this shows that, while Symphony X may not feel inclined to do many classically-inspired prog epics these days, they’ve refused to relent with age, instead, getting heavier and constantly finding ways to update their sound and remain relevant.

‘Iconoclast’ belongs in every metal fans collection. Simple.