Talking Heads ‎– Live On Tour

Warner Bros. Records ‎– WBMS 104
Vinyl, Promo, LP


A1 The Big Country 6:01
A2 Warning Sign 4:34
A3 Artists Only 5:22
A4 The Girls Want To Be With The Girls 3:52
A5 The Good Thing 3:14
A6 Electricity 3:32
B1 New Feeling 4:40
B2 Found A Job 5:32
B3 Psycho Killer 7:09
B4 Take Me To The River 6:26

Companies, etc.



Original limited edition first pressing.

"Live On Tour" was recorded at the Agora in Cleveland on December 18, 1978 and published as promo LP for radio broadcast. It was never officially released for the public. Only three songs (The Girls Want To Be With The Girls", "Electricity" and "Found A Job") were reprinted in the double live CD "The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads"; one song (Psycho Killer) was issued as a 7" promo single in UK. All the others are still officially unavailable elsewhere.
This first pressing WBMS 104 was "Produced and mixed by Talking Heads", the second pressing WBMS 104 RE-1 (with better sound) was "Produced and mixed by David Byrne and Ed Stasium", and mastered at Sterling Sound.

After the release of the official limited editions, a counterfeit LP appeared with the catalogue number WBMS 104 RE-1 only on side 1 and some other slightly differences in the labels: Bunny logo blurred while in the original has a sharp black outline (see images), texts printed with a different font, larger embossed circle in the label... Years later other counterfeits and fakes were pressed, some in pink vinyl and blurred Warner logo on the label, some in black vinyl and no logo.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out area A-side [hand-etched]): WBMS-1-104
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out area B-side [hand-etched]): WBMS-2-104

Other Versions (5 of 12) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WBMS 104 RE-1 Talking Heads Live On Tour(LP, Unofficial, Pin) Warner Bros. Records WBMS 104 RE-1 US 1979 Sell This Version
FM RAdio 30078 - 86 Talking Heads Live Heads(LP, Unofficial, W/Lbl, Yel) Not On Label (Talking Heads) FM RAdio 30078 - 86 Switzerland Unknown Sell This Version
HM 006 CD Talking Heads The Big Country(CD, Unofficial) HallMark HM 006 CD Europe 1992 Sell This Version
none Talking Heads Art School(LP, RE, Ltd, Unofficial, Yel) Not On Label (Talking Heads) none US 1979 Sell This Version
HAM 007 Talking Heads Electricity(CD, Unofficial) Hand Made HAM 007 Italy 1991 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



October 30, 2011
edited over 6 years ago
diegotrystero, Can you or someone else provide a reference that shows that all "RE-1" versions are counterfeit releases. The reason I ask is that I got my copy directly from a Warner Brothers promotional office. A friend and I used to go there (as well as to other labels) and tell them we were DJs at the University radio station. They'd give us all kinds of good stuff (promos, posters etc). During one visit, they gave me this LP. It has the "WBMS 104 RE-1" on side one only. It's hard to imagine that Warner Brothers' reps were handing out counterfeit records. I don't doubt counterfeits exist but I know my copy is not one and it has the "WBMS 104 RE-1" on side one only. The run-out etching on side 1 says "WBMS-1-104-RE-1-KM1". Side 2 says "WBMS-2-104-RE1-KM1". Unless someone can show how my copy is a counterfeit, I'm going to list it as a separate promo release.