Tangerine Dream ‎– Cyclone

Virgin ‎– TAND 9, Virgin ‎– 7243 8 40251 2 0, Virgin ‎– 7243 8 40251 20
CD, Album, Remastered, Reissue


  • Drums [Uncredited], Electronic Drums [Uncredited], Cymbal [Uncredited], Gong [Uncredited]Klaus Krüger
  • Engineer [Recording]Ottmar Bergier*
  • Guitar [Gibson Les Paul Custom, Roland Gs 500 And Gr 500 Controller], Acoustic Guitar [Ovation], Synthesizer [Oberheim Eight Voice Polyphonic, Arp Omni String, Arp Digital Soloist, Moog Modular, Korg Ps3100 Polyphonics, Solina String Ensemble], Mellotron [Twin Keyboard Mark V], Electronics [Projekt Electronic Time Control System]Edgar Froese
  • Liner NotesMark Prendergast
  • Lyrics By [Uncredited]Steve Jolliffe (tracks: 1, 2)
  • Mixed ByTangerine Dream
  • Painting [Cover Painting]Monique Froese
  • ProducerTangerine Dream
  • Remastered By [High Definition Digital Remastering]Simon Heyworth
  • Synthesizer [Moog Modular, Arpsoloist, Elka String, Oberheim Eight Voice Polyphonic, Oby One], Electronics [Projekt Electronic Sequenzer, Computer Studio Digital Sequenzer], Mellotron [Loop, M400], Percussion [Electronic]Christopher Franke
  • Vocals, Bass Flute, Alto Flute, Concert Flute [C-Flute], Piccolo Flute [Piccolo], Cor Anglais, Bass Clarinet, Clavinet [Hohner Clavinet], Synthesizer [Elka String Synthesizer, Roland System 100 Synthesizer], Grand Piano, Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Tenor Horn, Horn [Soprano], Lyricon [Lyricon By Computone]Steve Jolliffe
  • Written-ByChristopher Franke, Edgar Froese, Steve Jolliffe


High definition digital remastering at Chop 'Em Out, London. Recorded January 1978 at Audio Studios Berlin.

Published by EMI Virgin Music Ltd./GEMA. ℗ 1978 Virgin Records Ltd. © 1995 Virgin Records Ltd.
Catalogue numbers (on CD): TAND 9 , 7243 8 40251 2 0
Catalogue numbers (on spine/in booklet): TAND 9 , 7243 8 40251 20
Catalogue numbers (on rear): UK: TAND 9 , 7243 8 40251 20
Made In UK. Printed In The UK.

Issued in a standard jewel case with eight page foldout booklet.
Track 1 is misprinted 'Bent Cold Side Walk' on the CD silkscreen; Klaus Krieger's performer and Steve Jolliffe's lyric credits are completely omitted from the booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 24384 02512 0
  • Label Code: LC 3098
  • Rights Society: BIEM/MCPS
  • Price Code (F: ): PM 527

Other Versions (5 of 70) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
V 2097 Tangerine Dream Cyclone(LP, Album, Gat) Virgin V 2097 UK 1978 Sell This Version
V2-86093 Tangerine Dream Cyclone(CD, Album, RE) Virgin V2-86093 US 1988 Sell This Version
25 843 XOT Tangerine Dream Cyclone(LP, Album, RE, Non) Virgin 25 843 XOT Germany Unknown Sell This Version
D 57515 Tangerine Dream Cyclone(Cass, Album) Virgin D 57515 Spain 1978 Sell This Version
ALR 692 Tangerine Dream Cyclone(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Always Records ALR 692 Russia 1998 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 3, 2016
"A curio, but a long way from essential." Is the man mad! This is brilliant! The first two tracks, with vocals, Steve Joliffes voice is perfect for the tracks as recorded and as no one appears to have a live recording of these tracks how can you say his voice isnt powerful enough. This is one of my favourite TD recordings and I'm only sorry they decided not to persue the experiment. It puts Tyger to shame and I like Blake too.


December 10, 2014
With the departure of long-time member Peter Baumann the year before, Edgar Froese and Chris Franke sought out other musicians to fill the ranks, turning to drummer Klaus Kruger to provide live drums in place of the electronic rhythms they had been experimenting with, and Steve Joliffe, once a member of one of the band's earliest line-ups in the late '60s, on wind instruments. The instrumentation is the only similarity with the band's earlier sound, however, with Froese and Franke evidently keen on pursuing the progressive rock of Stratosfear much further. Indeed, much of Bent Cold Sidewalk and Madrigal Meridian are given over to long flute, clarinet and synth solos.

But of course, I'm ignoring the elephant in the room here: the vocals. During the recording of the album, the four members were unsure exactly what direction to take the pieces in, and so it was decided Joliffe would take on the role of vocalist. Voices had been used in abstract ways on some of the band's past recordings, but this would be the first time they had a traditional 'singer'. The overall effect brings the album very much into straight-forward prog rock territory, which alienated a lot of fans (and, indeed the band - Edgar is reported not to have listened to the album since its release in 1978). The two proper songs themselves aren't too bad, as prog goes, but the real let down is that Joliffe doesn't have a particularly strong voice. The closer of Bent Cold Sidewalk features him providing some slightly bizarre pronunciations in a somewhat forced voice; Rising Runner Missed by Endless Sender could almost be a parody of the more pompous, overly sincere elements of prog.

The longest piece is the instrumental closer, which gives a clue as to how the album might have sounded before the decision to include vocals was taken. It's far from the band's strongest side-long piece; similar to some of the pieces on Stratosfear, with more acoustic sounds but without the hooks that made the album so memorable.

All in all, Cyclone might not be the disaster some make it out to be, but only a certain niche of the band's fanbase will rate it as highly as other albums from the period. A curio, but a long way from essential.