Teenage Filmstars ‎– Buy Our Record Support Our Sickness

Creation Records ‎– CRECD177
CD, Album


1 Physical Graffiti 4:05
2 English Martyrs 3:34
3 Guruprophecy 3:56
4 Feeding The Bluejays 5:05
5 Designa Socialist 3:17
6 Carnaby Smooth 3:50
7 A Clockwork Banana 4:23
8 H.U.M. 5:40
9 You Mystify Me 3:02
10 Jeepers Creepers 5:50
11 A Hero ✳ In Music 17:42
12 Islamic Disco 11:58
13 Untitled 0:37

Companies, etc.


  • Bass [Freqencies], Other [Black Power]Jet Powers
  • Drums, Tabla, Other [New Face Of The Beat Girl Generation]Sister Anne
  • EngineerIan Shaw
  • Guitar [Space], Vocals, Tape, Other [Anarchism, The Karma Sutra]The Shed
  • Lead Guitar, Sitar, Other [Existentialism]Dean Angel
  • Mastered ByBilbo Baggins*
  • ProducerBaby Jesus
  • Tape, Other [Pyramidology, Mirrors, Flying Saucers]Dr.Manx
  • Written-By, Composed ByEdward Ball


The Shed B.23rd November 1978. Dean Angel B.29th September 1979
Jet Powers B.6th May 1980. Dr Manx B.30th November 1977
Sister Anne B.22nd November 1978

℗ 1997 Creation Records Ltd.
© 1997 Creation Records Ltd.

Apart from the band name on front cover, Creation Records' address and ℗, © and distribution information on back cover, and cat. # on spine all text on the sleeve is reversed. On the disc only the album title is reversed. (see images) This reflects the fact that almost all of the music has been recorded backwards.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 017556 601778
  • Matrix / Runout: [DADC Austria logo] A0100227213-0101 13 B1
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L553
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 94C2


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 28, 2017
File under: why isn't this on vinyl?!?!

This is one of those albums that floors you, just kicks you upside the head and leaves you asking Who? What? When? Where? How? (and most importantly) WHY? The answers aren't nearly as important as the fact that it rocks, triumphantly & anthemically.

As with Rocket Charms, all the guitars & vocals were recorded backwards, but where that album seemed more like an attempt to one-up Kevin Shields' studio trickery, Buy Our Record.. wraps the sound of shoegaze gauzily around LedZep riffage, obscuring the process and allowing listeners to focus on the SONGS. The vocals are what really stand out to me, as TF mastermind / mad scientist Ed Ball's delivery has a 70's arena rock quality to it that really works with the music, and stand in contrast to the more subdued cooing used on Rocket Charms. The end result is oddly reminiscent of both the Butthole Surfers and Spiritualized.

While the two prior albums had LP releases, Buy Our Record Support Our Sickness arrived in the heyday of the CD and during the winding down of Creation records, and as such this has never been released on vinyl, which is an absolute travesty. Here's to hoping a proper LP release eventually sees the light of day!


October 15, 2014
As title reveals almost all music is recorded backward.