The American Analog Set ‎– Know By Heart

Tiger Style ‎– TS-018
CD, Album


1 Punk As Fuck 4:09
2 The Only One 2:15
3 Like Foxes Through Fences 3:37
4 The Postman 2:59
5 Choir Vandals 3:01
6 Gone To Earth 3:13
7 Million Young 3:27
8 The Kindness Of Strangers 3:26
9 Know By Heart 2:53
10 Slow Company 3:00
11 Aaron & Maria 3:10
12 We're Computerizing And We Just Don't Need You Anymore 5:51

Companies, etc.



Inner Panel:
Recorded and mixed at home in Austin, Tx
Mastered at Terra Nova
© ℗ American Analog Set under exclusive license to Tiger Style Records

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 86806 00182 5
  • Barcode (String): 686806001825
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Matrix / Runout: X16158 4 TIG2 60018-2 01 M1S3
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 2U3G

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TS-018 The American Analog Set Know By Heart(LP, Album) Tiger Style TS-018 US 2001 Sell This Version
BARK141 The American Analog Set Know By Heart(LP, RE, TP) Barsuk Records BARK141 US 2014 Sell This Version
bark141 The American Analog Set Know By Heart (33xFile, MP3, Album, 320) Barsuk Records bark141 US 2014
BARK141 The American Analog Set Know By Heart(LP, RE, Gat) Barsuk Records BARK141 US 2014 Sell This Version



Add Review



October 3, 2016
edited about 1 year ago

What a tasty production, like playing pool and having every shot drop into the pocket effortlessly. I’m not one for comparisons, but I must say that this release is much in the vein of Luna, Galaxie 500 and later releases by Wilco ... especially the song "Spiders/Kidsmoke," though without the edges. So if you’re a fan of those groups then you are certainly going to dig this release, where the music just keeps rolling on, and on and on.

I’d like to call these exquisite sounds drone music, but it’s much more then then that. The guitars move along at a steady pace and then shift gears, swooping you to higher and lower levels, and then, as if by magic, bring you right back home ... safe and sound. It's all so resoundingly cool. In addition to that, there are some perfect electronics filling up all of the background spaces, and while the vocals appear to be mixed low, they’re not. These haunting vocals seem to come from another room, floating over and intermixing with the instrumentation, while the light handed drumming carries the pace, lacing together dozens of simple guitar chords that sprout from every corner, spurring things on even more.

I felt like I knew this music from the very first note, like it’s been living inside of my head for my whole life. It’s beyond comfortable and moving, it gets inside of your soul, it’s tangible and occupies space. This is the first time I have ever heard a band play silence into their music, with each song existing perfectly within its space. There's little that seems to be left to chance, and it’s all of this calculation that allows this piece of music to sound so good and breathable. So far, I haven’t been able to find anything I don’t like on this album, and it would be my suggestion that if you're at all into the vein of the neo-psychedelic genre, you don’t waste any more time and pick up on this dazed and wobbly-headed release.

Review by Jenell Kesler