The Aphex Twin* ‎– Classics

R & S Records ‎– RS 95035 X, R & S Records ‎– RS 95035
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition, Aqua Blue, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Aphex Twin* Digeridoo
A2 The Aphex Twin* Flaphead
A3 The Aphex Twin* Phloam
B1 The Aphex Twin* Isopropanol
B2 The Aphex Twin* Polynomial-C
B3 The Aphex Twin* Tamphex (Hedphuq Mix)
C1 The Aphex Twin* Phlange Phace
C2 The Aphex Twin* Dodeccaheedron
C3 The Aphex Twin* Analogue Bubblebath 1
D1 The Aphex Twin* Metapharstic
D2 Mescalinum United We Have Arrived (Aphex Twin QQT Mix)
Remix – Aphex TwinWritten-By, Producer – The Mover
D3 Mescalinum United We Have Arrived (Aphex Twin TTQ Mix)
Remix – Aphex TwinWritten-By, Producer – The Mover
D4 The Aphex Twin* Digeridoo (Live In Cornwall, 1990)

Companies, etc.



Sticker on cover has the catalog number as "RS 95035 X" and the barcode as: 5 411659 000351.
Spine and labels have the catalog number as "RS 95035" and back has the barcode as: 5411659150353.
Gatefold sleeve.

All tracks written and produced by Richard D. James, except 2/3 Side 4 (original by Mescalinum United, written and produced by The Mover for Planet Core Productions - Arcadipane/Arcadipane - ℗ 1990 PCP)
Published by Chrysalis Music, except 2/3 Side 4 (published by ICM/Hanseatic)
℗ 1992 R & S Records, except where noted. © 1995 R & S Records.
Manufactured and marketed by R & S Records/Belgium.
Made in Belgium.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Rear Artwork): 5411659150353
  • Barcode (Cover Sticker): 5 411659 000351
  • Rights Society: SABAM TM
  • Matrix / Runout (Etching A): RS 95035 - A₁
  • Matrix / Runout (Etching B): RS 95035 - B₁
  • Matrix / Runout (Etching C): RS 95035 C₁
  • Matrix / Runout (Etching D): RS 95035 D₁

Other Versions (5 of 22) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RS 95035 CD, 516.0035.020 The Aphex Twin* Classics(CD, Comp) R & S Records, Play It Again Sam [PIAS] RS 95035 CD, 516.0035.020 Europe 1995 Sell This Version
RS 95035 The Aphex Twin* Classics(2xLP, Comp) R & S Records RS 95035 Belgium 1995 Sell This Version
RS 95035 CD The Aphex Twin* Classics(CD, Comp, RE) R & S Records RS 95035 CD Belgium Unknown Sell This Version
RS 95035DB The Aphex Twin* Classics(13xFile, MP3, Comp, RM, RE, 320) R & S Records RS 95035DB Belgium 2008
DIST 004 CD, DIST004CD The Aphex Twin* Classics(CD, Comp) Distance, Distance DIST 004 CD, DIST004CD France 1995 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



February 5, 2016
Any news about a repress coming in 2016? SAW, RDJ album got repressed.9


May 10, 2014
Vinyl 1 of my copy is clear translucent vinyl with just a very slight tinge of blue through it (not quite a marble effect but almost on its way), while the second vinyl is aqua blue as per the photos.


March 24, 2011
There is a great collection of RDJ from the 90s. They tend to be harder, beat driven tracks, but I believe the softer tracks like "Polynomial-C", "Digeridoo" and "Analogue Bubblebath 1" stand out the most.


January 2, 2010
edited over 8 years ago

Richard D James is in the nineties a completely original artist. Aphex Twin is of course a beats-focused music, but in a weird way, with strange sound effects applied on the percussions, always on the tightrope with noise. He roughly can also be seen as a pioneer of the actual breakcore and noisecore styles.
This "classics" cd is a collection of songs already released elsewhere (the first four are on the "didgeridoo ep", the following four are on the "xylem tube ep", and "metapharstic" was released on the compilation "mayday a new chapter of house & techno 92". If you don't know Aphex twin (we never knows...) get this and go directly to the following key tracks : isopropanol, phlange phace & dodeccaheedron.
Listening to these tracks is like being on a trip to an unknown and mysterious destination, but already hostile.

Overall a very good collection. Recommended.


January 17, 2003

The great thing about this record is that it wound up a few issues if you were interested in collecting AFX records: Firstly, "Metapharstic" was finally released properly to a wider audience which, until this record was published, the only copy in circulation was on the first Mayday compilation of '92, which is a really bad quality pressing with a lot of tracks squeezed onto the two, rather thin, records. (it had the same amount of tracks as the CD)
Secondly two of the tracks off the notorious AFX Purple label have finally been named with the 12" not being any help there, as it was...well, purple.

(Incidentally - there is a minor difference between the first run of this awesome 12" and the later batches, though it was the same pressing - the dye used on the blank purple label was rather volatile, being an almost luminescent hue, a bit like ultramarine (except purple)
After the first batch of records were done at Disco Press (where R&S cuts all it's records) and the dye was left till the next batch was booked, for some reason the dye lost it's flourescent quality and the bulk of this release never got to see the concept colour that Renaat was so keen to get out and had specially made up for this record.)

Interestingly, the blue 'Classics' is a much finer quality vinyl and a much better pressing than the black copy, usually, it is the other way around.