The Band ‎– The Weight Live Chicago '83

Rox Vox ‎– RVCD2025
CD, Album, Remastered, Unofficial Release


1 Upon Cripple Creek
2 The Shape I'm In
3 It Makes No Difference
4 Milk Cow Boogie
5 Mystery Train
6 Harvest (Has Surely Come)
7 Java Blues
8 I Shall Be Released
9 Rag Mama Rag
10 Long Black Veil
11 (I Don't Want To) Hang Up My Rock 'N' Roll Shoes
12 The Weight
13 Ophelia


Seven years on from their iconic Last Waltz in San Francisco, Rick Danko, Levon Helm, Garth Hudson and Richard Manuel reunited, performing (with backup from the Cate Brothers) to rapturous receptions in the US and Canada. Manuel in particular was on better form than he’d been for years, as the band tore through a selection of classics from their back catalog, as well as the new track Java Blues, and numerous oldies they’d played during their long apprenticeship. This remarkable set was broadcast on WXRT-FM at the outset of their reunion, and is presented here with background notes and images.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5292317202528