The Beatles ‎– Introducing The Beatles

Vee Jay Records ‎– SR 1062, Vee Jay Records ‎– VJLPS 1062
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo


A1 I Saw Her Standing There
A2 Misery
A3 Anna
A4 Chains
A5 Boys
A6 Ask Me Why
B1 Please Please Me
B2 Baby It's You
B3 Do You Want To Know A Secret?
B4 A Taste Of Honey
B5 There's A Place
B6 Twist And Shout

Companies, etc.



Most important: this is the GENUINE release, cover and record. The notable difference on these Vee Jay labels are the very thin fonts on album's title and album's songs. The back cover is the song titles back, with comma on 'Please, Please Me' listing, denoting a later pressing. Appear to be the intitials 'URT' hand etched in the dead wax also.

This is known as 'version 2' of the album, as Vee-Jay was legally halted by Capitol to use the songs 'Love Me Do' and 'P. S. I Love You'. These songs were replaced by 'Please Please Me' and 'Ask Me Why'.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label A): 63-3402-S
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B): 63-3403-S
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1, Hand Etched): S 63-3402-S
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2, Hand Etched): S 63-3403-S

Other Versions (5 of 472) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PMC 1202 The Beatles Please Please Me(LP, Album, Mono, Bla) Parlophone PMC 1202 UK 1963 Sell This Version
PMCM.1202 The Beatles Please Please Me(LP, Mono, Album, RE) Apple Records PMCM.1202 New Zealand 1969 Sell This Version
5C 062-04219 The Beatles Please Please Me(LP, Album, RE) Parlophone 5C 062-04219 Netherlands 1977 Sell This Version
14C-26204219 The Beatles Please Please Me(Cass, Album) EMI 14C-26204219 Greece Unknown Sell This Version
0946 3 82416 2 1 The Beatles Please Please Me(CD, Album, Mono, Enh, RE, RM) Parlophone, Apple Records, Capitol Records 0946 3 82416 2 1 US 2009 Sell This Version


Add Review



May 4, 2017
edited 9 months ago

Looking back on Beatlemania, 'Introducing the Beatles' never felt like the real FIRST Beatles' album. 'Meet the Beatles' fits that bill perfectly because with the exception of one song, the entire album is composed by Lennon and McCartney. 'Introducing the Beatles' features many covers of other artists' songs, and I don't think most of them hold up well through time.

On the bright side, Lennon and McCartney were already writing great material. 'I Saw Her Standing There', 'There's a Place', 'P.S. I Love You', 'Please Please Me'. All of these cuts come from one of the two versions released by Vee-Jay.

This album is easily the most counterfeited album in vinyl history, with millions of fake boots and reproductions. These are no doubt heavily detailed here at Discogs. That I happened to stumble upon the FIRST TRUE copy of this album and at a ridiculously low price is a miracle. Everyone has seen 'stereophonic' 'Introducing the Beatles' albums. And they're mostly fakes. You can easily obtain the Parlophone stereo release of 'Please Please Me'. All of the Beatles' albums have been re-issued for decades. I'm just amazed I actually own this stereo copy, which is a fairly rare record...if not as entertaining as 'Meet the Beatles'.