The Chieftains ‎– The Chieftains 4

Island Records ‎– ILPS 9380
Vinyl, LP, Album, Pitman Pressing

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Drowsey Maggie 3:57
A2 Morgan Magan 2:48
A3 The Tip Of The Whale 2:52
A4 The Bucks Of Oranmore
Fiddle [Solo] – Sean Keane
A5 The Battle Of Aughrim 7:32
B1 The Morning Dew 3:27
B2 Carrickfergus 2:43
B3 Hewlett 2:30
B4 Cherish The Ladies 2:24
B5 Lord Mayo 2:38
B6 The Love Theme From Barry Lyndon (Women Of Ireland) (Mna Na H Eireann) 3:28
B7 O'Keeffe's Slide / An Suisin Ban / The Star Above The Garter / The Weavers 3:36

Companies, etc.



Pitman Pressing from P stamp and Pɪᴛ etching in runout matrices
Lacquer cut by Kendun Recorders from KENDUN stamp in runout matrices

Recorded in London at Morgan Studios
September 1972 and February 1973

All tracks expect B6 published by Copyright Control
B6 published by Chrysalis Music Corp.
Phonographic copyright (p) - 1973 Island Record Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side A): ILPS 9380-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side B): ILPS 9380-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A, etched (P, 1, KENDUN, C stamped)): P ILPS-9380-A-Pɪᴛ 1 KENDUN -A- C[scratched out]
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B, etched (P, KENDUN, 4, 1 stamped)): P ILPS-9380-A-Pɪᴛ X KENDUN -A- 4 1

Other Versions (5 of 19) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ILPS 9380 The Chieftains 4(LP, Album) Island Records ILPS 9380 Canada 1973 Sell This Version
CC14 The Chieftains 4(LP, Album) Claddagh Records CC14 Ireland 1973 Sell This Version
CC14CD The Chieftains The Chieftains 4(CD, Album, RE) Claddagh Records CC14CD Ireland Unknown Sell This Version
MP 2549 The Chieftains Women Of Ireland - Chieftains Four(LP, Album, Promo) Polydor MP 2549 Japan 1976 Sell This Version
79024 The Chieftains 4(LP) Shanachie 79024 US 1983 Sell This Version