The Cinematic Orchestra ‎– Every Day

Ninja Tune ‎– zen CD59, Ninja Tune ‎– zen CD 59
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 All That You Give
Acoustic Bass – Phil FranceCo-producer – P. France*Electronics – Patrick CarpenterHarp – Rhodri DaviesPercussion – Milo FellRecorded By [Instrumentation] – Jamie FinchRecorded By [Vocals], Engineer [1st] – Steve HigdonRecorded By [Vocals], Engineer [2nd] – Brian BayleyVocals – Fontella BassWritten-By [Co-written By], Co-producer – D. C Santana*, T. Caster*
2 Burn Out
Acoustic Bass, Electric Piano – Phil FranceElectric Piano – John EllisRecorded By [Instrumentation, Acoustic Bass] – Jamie Finch
3 Flite
Electric Bass, Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Phil FrancePercussion – Milo FellRecorded By [Drums] – Greg MorganRecorded By [Instrumentation] – Jamie FinchWritten-By [Co-written By] – E. Weber*
4 Evolution
Acoustic Bass – Phil FranceCo-producer – P. France*Electric Piano – John EllisRecorded By [Instrumentation, Electric Piano, Electronics] – Jamie FinchRecorded By [Vocals], Engineer [1st] – Steve HigdonRecorded By [Vocals], Engineer [2nd] – Brian BayleyTurntables – Patrick CarpenterVocals – Fontella Bass
5 Man With The Movie Camera
Co-producer – P. France*Electric Bass, Piano [Acoustic] – Phil FranceRecorded By – Jamie FinchSoprano Saxophone – Tom ChantTurntables, Electronics – Patrick Carpenter
6 All Things To All Men
Co-producer – P. France*Electric Bass – Phil FranceHarp – Rhodri DaviesPiano [Acoustic] – John EllisRecorded By – Jamie FinchSoprano Saxophone – Tom ChantVocals – Roots ManuvaWritten-By [Co-written By] – C. Leigh*, J. Barry*, R. Smith*
7 Everyday
Acoustic Bass – Phil FranceRecorded By – Jamie FinchSynthesizer [Moog] – John EllisWritten-By [Co-written By] – P. G. Haazen*

Companies, etc.



All tracks recorded at Blows Yard Studios, except vocals on tracks 1 and 4 recorded at 4 Seasons Media Productions L.L.C., St, Louis; drums on track 3 recorded at Moolah Rouge Studios, Stockport; electric piano on track 4 recorded at Aim Studios, London; electronics on track 4 recorded at Soho Recording Studios, London. All tracks mixed at Soho Recording Studio, London. Mastered at Sony Music Studios. Vinyl cut at Alchemy Soho, London.

Track 1 incorporates elements of the composition "Angel of Air" written by D. C Santana and T. Coster, published by Light Music (BMI). Track 3 contains a sample of "Quiet Departures" performed by Eberhard Weber, original sound recording licensed from ECM Records. Track 6 incorporates elements of "Petulia" by John Barry and Carolyn Leigh, published by Harwin-Music Corp/W-Seven Music Corp/Warner/Chappell Music Ltd. Track 7 incorporates elements of "Katumbo" performed by Les Troubadours du Roi Baudouin and arranged by Pater Guido Haazen, published by Warber/Chappell Belgium/Warner Chappell Music Ltd.

Photos shot on location at the Rivoli Ballroom, London.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 021392 245126
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5021392245126
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): IMPRESS ZENCD59 03 5
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, 3): IMPRESS ZENCD59 06 6
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): MADE IN THE UK BY UNIVERSAL M & L
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, 3): MANUFACTURED IN THE UK BY UNIVERSAL M & L
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L135
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2, 3): IFPI L136
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 04H1
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 04H3
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 04F8

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ZENCD 59 B The Cinematic Orchestra Every Day(CD, Album, M/Print, RE) Ninja Tune ZENCD 59 B USA & Canada 2002 Sell This Version
ZEN CD59 The Cinematic Orchestra Every Day(CD, Album, Unofficial) Ninja Tune (2) ZEN CD59 Russia 2002 Sell This Version
R61 The Cinematic Orchestra Every Day(CD, Album) No Paper Records R61 Poland 2015 Sell This Version
Barcode15CD The Cinematic Orchestra Every Day(CD, Album) Barcode Records Barcode15CD Poland 2010 Sell This Version
ZEN 59 The Cinematic Orchestra Every Day(2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, 180) Ninja Tune ZEN 59 UK 2013 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



June 20, 2014
Without a really good audio setup you will get distortions when playing this album... "All thing to all men" is recorded amazingly.


September 3, 2007
edited over 11 years ago
The last track 'Every day' features a sample of a congalese choir from a 1958 album Missa Luba by Les Troubadours Du Roi Baudouin. What really spun me out is I found a copy of Missa Luba from a charity shop for 25p in 2001 and used the exact same track on a mix tape I did and had the idea of sampling it once I got the equipment... A year later and Cinematic Orchestra had beaten me to it! Not that I was dissapointed, to me it's pure synchronicity.


April 8, 2004

<I>Everyday</I>, the second album by the Cinematic Orchestra, finds them simultaneously condensing and expanding their sound. Their examination of mood is much more focused, but their song structure is more relaxed, allowing them to explore different riffs. Their addition of Fontella Bass to the roster lends a melancholy heft to “All That You Give,” while “Burn Out” is all about the delayed fireworks of the horn section. “Flite” picks up the tempo a bit, then “Evolution” gives us a funkified jazz spoken-word jam. “Man with the Movie Camera” is a direct descendant from <I>Motion</I>, while “Everyday” is an extended and moody work. A brilliant and evocative musical journey.


November 9, 2003

this music has a feature to flow - very consequent and "connecting". a masterpiece that involves, seduces and in a way imprisons. the most bewitching track - 2nd perhaps, super make-it-jazz (with fontella bass vocal - can't replace with any other) tracks - 1st and 4th ones, trippy and gracious 6th track led by roots manuva. tracks that left fill up the holes perfectly. some treat it as the best album of 2002 acid jazz/downtempo/wha'eva field.