The Cinematic Orchestra ‎– Motion

Ninja Tune ‎– ZEN 45, Ninja Tune ‎– ZEN45, Form & Function ‎– none
2 × Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Durian
Flugelhorn – Jamie ColemanPiano, Electric Piano – Alex James (9)Producer, Written-By – Eva KatzenmaierSoprano Saxophone – Tom Chant
A2 Ode To The Big Sea
Percussion – Saidi KanbaSoprano Saxophone – Tom ChantTrumpet, Flugelhorn – Jamie Coleman
B3 Night Of The Iguana
Acoustic Bass – Phil FranceDrums – T. Daniel HowardPiano, Soprano Saxophone – Tom ChantTrumpet – Jamie Coleman
C4 Channel 1 Suite
Drums – T. Daniel HowardElectric Bass – Phil FranceElectric Piano – Tom ChantTrumpet – Jamie Coleman
C5 BlueBirds
Electric Bass – Phil FrancePiano, Alto Saxophone – Tom Chant
C6 And Relax! 4:54
D7 Diabolus
Acoustic Bass – Phil FranceDrums – T. Daniel HowardPiano, Soprano Saxophone – Tom Chant
D8 Kalima
Vibraphone, Soprano Saxophone – Tom Chant

Companies, etc.



(p) & (c) 1999.

Form & Function logo appears only on the lower right corner of the back cover.

The track positions are sequentially numbered across all four labels.

Track durations and BPM are not provided on the record.
A1: 82/102 | A2: 107
B3: 83-88
C4: 86-87 | C5: 81-90 | C6: 71
D7: 70-77 | D8: 97

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 021392 199184
  • Barcode (scanned): 5021392199184
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): ZEN 45 A-01-01-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): ZEN 45 B-01-01-1 JAZZ TORTURE
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): ZEN 45 C-01-01-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): ZEN 45 D-01-01-

Other Versions (5 of 11) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ZENCD45 The Cinematic Orchestra Motion(CD, Album) Ninja Tune ZENCD45 UK 1999 Sell This Version
TFCK-87985 The Cinematic Orchestra Motion(CD, Album, Enh) Toy's Factory TFCK-87985 Japan 1999 Sell This Version
ZEN45 The Cinematic Orchestra Motion(2xLP, Album, RE) Ninja Tune ZEN45 UK 2013 Sell This Version
BARCODE29CD The Cinematic Orchestra Motion(CD, Album) Barcode Records BARCODE29CD Poland 2011 Sell This Version
R60 The Cinematic Orchestra Motion(CD, Album) No Paper Records R60 Poland 2015 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 17, 2016
edited about 1 year ago

Wow! No review. I can only guess people feel the music speaks for itself.
I caught Giles Peterson DJing one night in London and he played some of the tracks from this LP. I was duly blown away and managed to ask the MC he had that night what he had been playing. He just said look out for Motion in the shops soon. I bought it from Reckless as soon as I saw it and It didn't leave my turntable for so many months. It is a masterpiece of manipulation. How quite disparate pieces of music can be brought together and sound like it's a single band just blew me away. Pure genius IMHO - there are glimpses of this on Everyday but Motion for me will always remain as Swincoes' best compostion.