The Clash ‎– Combat Rock

Epic ‎– PE 37689
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Know Your Rights 3:40
A2 Car Jamming 3:58
A3 Should I Stay Or Should I Go 3:06
A4 Rock The Casbah 3:42
A5 Red Angel Dragnet 3:46
A6 Straight To Hell 5:26
B1 Overpowered By Funk
Featuring – Futura 2000
B2 Atom Tan 2:27
B3 Sean Flynn 4:30
B4 Ghetto Defendant 4:43
B5 Inoculated City 2:40
B6 Death Is A Star 3:08



Barcode when scanned is 074643768917. However the printed version shows 07464376891 and additionally a secondary barcode: 02.
Variant 1 also has a new barcode wrapped from spine around back covering up printed barcode.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 074643768917
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched, Side A): AL-37689-2L
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched, Side B): BL-37689-3D
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped, Both Sides): Masterdisk
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched, Side A - Variant 1): AL-37689-2K HW
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched, Side B - Variant 1): IT-P-BL-37689-3C HW o

Other Versions (5 of 161) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FMLN 2 The Clash Combat Rock(LP, Album) CBS FMLN 2 UK 1982 Sell This Version
CBS 32787 The Clash Combat Rock(LP, Album, RE) CBS CBS 32787 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
FE 37689 The Clash Combat Rock(LP, Album, RE, Car) Epic FE 37689 US Unknown Sell This Version
ELPS 4287 The Clash Combat Rock(LP, Album) Epic ELPS 4287 New Zealand 1982 Sell This Version
FE 37689, FMLN 2 The Clash Combat Rock(LP, Album) Epic, Epic FE 37689, FMLN 2 Canada 1982 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



September 17, 2015

Combat Rock is another example of a band hitting their peak just before they break up. Though perhaps their most commercially successful album (with both intercontinental hit singles 'Should I Stay or Should I Go?' and 'Rock the Casbah'), the uneven sound of this album shows the fractious nature of the band hitting their high. The entire first side is militant, vicious and beautiful, including both the aforementioned singles as well as call-to-arms opener 'Know Your Rights' and the lush Vietnam-ode reggae of 'Straight to Hell,' with the weak link being 'Car Jamming,' which provides a taste of what follows on the flip-side. Side two opens with the reprehensible 'Overpowered by Funk' and lurches on through other ill-advised ventures into territory the band had already explored on their previous, Sandinista (to similarly mixed results).
From here out, The Clash spiraled apart. Between this album, Sandinista and the better-forgotten Cut the Crap, it seems like it was probably for the best they called it quits when they did.