The Dutch Swing College Band ‎– 100 Years Of Jazz

STS Analog ‎– 6111173
Vinyl, LP, Stereo


A1 Original Dixieland One Step
A2 Memphis Blues
A3 Soprano Mood
A4 Apex Blues
A5 Big Butter And Egg Man
A6 Strange Peach
B1 Clarinet Marmalade
B2 Doghouse Blues
B3 Duff Campbell's Revenge
B4 Basin Street Blues
B5 Fidgety Feed



Subtitle on label: Europe's Most Swinging Jazz Band since 1945

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
T6111173 The Dutch Swing College Band 100 Years Of Jazz(Reel, 2tr Stereo, 10.5" Reel, Album, (CC) STS Analog T6111173 Netherlands 2017 Sell This Version


Add Review



December 14, 2017

DUTCH SWING COLLEGE BAND - 2017 vinyl analogue recording

Brand new pure analogue recording 33rpm vinyl - This LP contains a piece of history, our history, the history of jazz. Whilst the Dutch Swing College Band has been on the block for quite some years, 72 to be precise, the history of jazz goes back more than 100 years. Exactly a century ago the musicians of the Original Dixieland Jass Band were the first to record a jazz track, thereby adding their part to jazz history. In honour of these men, and with great love of our musical genre, we recorded this long playing record. It’s actually the first one in thirty years, as opposed to modern digital releases of our albums, which you can find on platforms like iTunes and Spotify.
‘100 years of Jazz’ returns to an era when this wonderful music was born, featuring a comprehensive collection of traditional jazz standards. All tracks are analogue recordings completed in one single session. The tunes ‘Soprano Mood’, ‘Strange Peach’ and ‘Doghouse Blues’ were written by Peter Schilperoort, the founding father of the Dutch Swing College Band, and first released in 1948. The opening track ‘Original Dixieland One Step’ was on the first 78rpm jazz record ever released, back in 1917.

Dutch Swing College Band
Keesjan Hoogeboom – trumpet
Bob Kaper – clarinet, alto saxophone
David Lukács – clarinet, soprano-, tenor-, baritone saxophone
Maurits Woudenberg – trombone
Frenk van Meeteren – guitar, banjo
Adrie Braat – double bass
Anton Burger – drums

recorded by STS at De Glind, The Netherlands, 16/05/2017
recording: Fritz de With,
recording supervisor: Ruud van Lieshout
mastering: Peter Brussee, Bas Meijer, Keesjan Hoogeboom at Q Point, Hilversum, The Netherlands
produced by Fritz de With & Adrie Braat