The Flaming Lips ‎– 24 Hour Song Skull

Label:
Series:
Format:
Memory Stick, Single, External Hard Drive
File, WAV, 24 Bit
File, WAV, 16 Bit
File, MP3, 320 kbps
All Media, Limited Edition
Country:
Released:
Genre:
Style:

Tracklist

24 Bit WAV-1 7 Skies H3 24:00:00
16 Bit WAV-1 7 Skies H3 24:00:00
MP3-1 7 Skies H3 24:00:00

Notes

Limited edition of 13 copies encased in a real human skull.

Released at midnight on Halloween.

The release was also streamed online for a maximum of 999 people at a time.

Reviews Show All 9 Reviews

Add Review

KingAnimal

KingAnimal

September 5, 2018
12 people and 3 more people not shown own this. So 15 people own a 13 copy release? Do we have 2 liars, 2 couples, 2 test pressings?
expandabear

expandabear

August 22, 2018
everyone getting upset about ~skulls~ should go check out zero kama or metgumbnerbone, seeing as how they /made their instruments from human bone/
how is this even a problem
petecities

petecities

March 5, 2018
That's wild. It sold here for $5171, which is a return of 3.42% after 6 or 7 years. should've just put the money in a CD account.
diggersdigest

diggersdigest

February 11, 2018

Dsicogs what the matter with you ? Have you heard about the word ethic ?
robert_amish

robert_amish

February 9, 2018
Bloody hell! this is a fake. This doesn't look like a real skull at all. Thats plastic probably made by a 3D printer!
sikntwzd2010

sikntwzd2010

February 8, 2018
edited 10 months ago

Let's get the obvious out of the way and start by saying, This is not for everyone. However, the people that ARE interested in the piece will not be disappointed. I can remember when this came out, along with all the other interesting releases in 2011. I was making shit money and had just recently gotten into The Lips. In fact, it was an article about Gummy Skulls on Yahoo that kicked the whole thing off for me. I quickly devoured their back catalogue to bring myself up to speed on their current soundscapes. The Gummy Fetus and Strobo Trip came out and passed me by, as I couldn't afford anything more than 1 Record a week on my peasant's wages. Then October 2011 comes and 7 Skies H3 is released. For me, it was the perfect combination of my fascination with Death, the afterlife, Art and Of Course, The Flaming Lips!! I remember thinking, there's no way in hell I will EVER be able to get one of those. They sold out and I settled for the streaming site and then the RSD Vinyl version that would come a few years later. Six years would pass and I would almost forget this conquest ever existed until Life presented an opportunity for more money and an available copy. Not willing to let history repeat itself, I jumped on the chance. This is the Holy Grail of my collection, the longest I've ever waited to find something and definitely the most expensive single item in it. If I had to do it again, I would do it even quicker if possible!!! I know some people feel it is exploiting people or disrespectful somehow but I disagree. It is simply an unusual piece of Art that is one of a kind and not for the faint of heart or for everyone. People have remains in their houses and that's considered normal, so I feel like it's a variation on that behavior with the exception being I didn't know the person. I wish I did know something about them but sadly I do not. What I do know is that they have a new family and a "second life" with new people. Anyway, that's my take on this, hope you enjoyed reading this. :)
Nitrous.McBread

Nitrous.McBread

February 8, 2018
I tried playing it but my stylus got all messed up. Eventually made some really interesting broth though.