The Future Sound Of London ‎– Cascade

Virgin ‎– VSCDT 1478, Virgin ‎– VSCDT1478, Virgin ‎– 7243 8 92172 23
CD, Single, Partially Mixed


1 Cascade (Part 1) 7:19
2 Cascade (Part 2) 9:08
3 Cascade (Part 3) 4:15
4 Cascade (Part 4) 4:33
5 Cascade (Part 5) 6:12
6 Cascade (ShortForm) 4:16

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Earthbeat Studios, London, 1993.

Tracks 1 to 4 have incorrect track durations on the release (7:22/9:38/4:24/4:39); corrected above.

Tracks 1 to 5 are segued together into a continuous whole, creating a "longform" single. Track 6 is effectively a radio edit.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 24389 21722 3
  • Matrix / Runout (Variation 1): 892172 1:1:1 EMI SWINDON
  • Matrix / Runout (Variation 2): 892172 1:1:3 EMI SWINDON
  • Matrix / Runout (Variation 3): 892172 1:1:4 EMI SWINDON
  • Rights Society: BIEM/STEMRA
  • Label Code: LC 3098
  • Distribution Code: PM 515

Other Versions (5 of 9) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
VST1478, 7243 8 92172 6 1 The Future Sound Of London Cascade(12", Single, Pic) Virgin, Virgin VST1478, 7243 8 92172 6 1 UK & Europe 1993 Sell This Version
VSCDJ 1478 The Future Sound Of London Cascade(CD, Single, Promo) Virgin VSCDJ 1478 UK 1993 Sell This Version
VST1478, 7243 8 92172 6 1 The Future Sound Of London Cascade(12", Single) Virgin, Virgin VST1478, 7243 8 92172 6 1 UK 1993 Sell This Version
ASW 6175-6 The Future Sound Of London Cascade(12") Astralwerks ASW 6175-6 US 1993 Sell This Version
VSC 1478 The Future Sound Of London Cascade(Cass, Single) Virgin VSC 1478 UK 1993 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 21, 2009

15 years on these tracks still astound. Lush yet angular, synthetic yet so organic; the very premise of FSOL seems at odds. FSOL's affinity for wavering chords, sampled voices, and sudden changes in tempo shimmers here: Part 1 slowly develops its groove amidst water droplets and morse code patters, with what sounds like a plucked instrument centering the theme, tablas circling in the background and sampled flute increasing the tension. Part 2 attempts to slow down the tempo while repeating the theme, while Part 3 emerges as totally distinct. The loose sounds floating about in it echo bits of Parts 1-2, but are arranged as brief snatches of their originals. It sounds alien and ambient, as if one is walking on the surface of another planet. Part 4 is the stunning highlight. A much harsher and provocative beat emerges out of soaring synthesizer lines, accompanied by bluesy guitar licks (processed, undoubtedly, to their breaking point). Part 5, like 3, drops much all of the established theme in an attempt to make what seems to be a trance track, with beats that sound like much of their previous efforts. The short-form edit is pretty much a rehash of the previous 4 parts mixed into one over-quickly developing track.

With Cascade, FSOL announced a brand-new way of making their music. While there are dance rhythms embedded in this (and future) album(s), they are secondary to the mindblowing density and attention to detail they develop. The end result of this: further listening reveals new subtleties and joys each time.