The Future Sound Of London ‎– Dead Cities

Virgin ‎– V2814, Virgin ‎– 7243 8 42068 1 9
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Herd Killing 2:09
A2 Dead Cities 6:20
A3 Her Face Forms In Summertime 5:57
A4 We Have Explosive 5:42
B1 Everyone In The World Is Doing Something Without Me 3:35
B2 My Kingdom
Drums – Richie Thomas*
B3 Max
Saxophone – Richie Thomas*
B4 Antique Toy 4:05
C1 Quagmire / In A State Of Permanent Abyss 7:22
C2 Glass 4:16
D1 Yage
Flute – Yage
D2 Vit Drowning / Through Your Gills I Breathe 5:24
D3 First Death In The Family 2:26

Companies, etc.



Comes in a gatefold sleeve.

Recorded at Earthbeat Studios, London '96.

A1 + A4 'We Have Explosive' and 'Herd Killing' mix
Guitar stab, wah guitar and vocal yell sourced from Run DMC - LP Tougher Than Leather.
We Have Explosive' vocal - B's processing too
A2 Outro poetry from 'Dead Cities' by Dick Verbatim.
B1 'Everyone In The World Is Doing Something Without Me'
Vocal by Cobain from ' I need re-calibrate' recorded at The Womb - London.
Layered Voices sampled from an improvisation by Rebecca Caine.
Intro Breath environment sourced from an orchestral re-working of Eggshell by Craig Armstrong.
Pig - recorded and rendered at the electronic farm - Norfolk - by Yage on an 'Always' working vacation.
B2 Guitar sample swapped for cubase with Ozric Tentacles - Taken from Pungent Effulgent
Flute sample - sourced from 'Once Upon A Time In America' (Ennio Morricone).
Voice sample from 'Rachel's Song' (Vangelis) from the film soundtrack Bladerunner soundtrack sung by Mary Hopkin.
Drums - Richie Thomas 'caught with the DAT running'.
B3 Child's voice recorded 'Outside of the web' at little Venice by 'The Block's a Nutter.
Piano fed through the machines - restructured and re-collaged from midi-files written by max Richter.
Alto-sax sample mechanically removed from a day's recording of Richie Thomas.
C1 Original samples collected and collated by Baker St. Mythology.
Quagmire Environment ' He thinks he's very funny' sourced from 'Childhood Memories Of Pin' from the Philip Pin archives.
C2 'In A State Of Permanent Abyss' :
Environment from a lost recording of Max Richter's 'Ripple'.
Girl crying in the park unknow - Hyde Park June 96.
D1 Moroccan flute by Yage recorded at sordid accomodation - London - 1989.
'jane jane' sourced from shrine by Riz Maslen 1983.
Some weird greek instruments no one can remember the name of apart from the greeks who are in Greece' - played by Byron Con
'Regurgitated bits' leon Mar
D3 Recorded and performed on an unscheduled Baker St-Dollis Hill day trip by B.
14 Mouth whistle by inert armchair sampling from The Best Selling Show laughter - 'honey sunshine' from a hi-8 ' putts goes to Sri lanka'
Dead Cities re-prise recorded by Simon Wells at Headstone Lane from Snuff recordings, ' The Disappearance of Troy Motherwell'.

℗ 1996 Virgin Records Ltd. © 1996 Virgin Records Ltd.

EBV (Electronic Brain Violence)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 24384 20681 9
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out Side A): D V 2814 A-1-1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out Side B): D V 2814 B-1-1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out Side C): D V 2814 C-1-1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Run-out Side D): D V 2814 D-1-1-1
  • Price Code (F): PM264
  • Label Code: LC 3098

Other Versions (5 of 26) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CDV2814, 7243 8 42068 2 6 The Future Sound Of London Dead Cities(CD, Album) Virgin, Virgin CDV2814, 7243 8 42068 2 6 UK & Europe 1996 Sell This Version
7243 8 42068 4 0, TCV2814 The Future Sound Of London Dead Cities(Cass, Album) Virgin, Virgin 7243 8 42068 4 0, TCV2814 Poland 1996 Sell This Version
842068 2 The Future Sound Of London Dead Cities(CD, Album) Virgin 842068 2 Brazil 1997 Sell This Version
7243 8 42068 2 6, CDV2814 The Future Sound Of London Dead Cities(CD, Album) Virgin, Virgin, EBV, EBV 7243 8 42068 2 6, CDV2814 Europe 1996 Sell This Version
DE 3794 The Future Sound Of London Dead Cities(CD, Album, Promo) Delabel DE 3794 France 1996 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 7 Reviews

Add Review



June 6, 2020
We need a reissue, this album is great. Sorry, i'm not paying upward of 60 bucks for an album that should be 20 to 30 bucks. If it was a special edition than I could see how it's upward of 60 bucks but from what I see it looks like a standard album.


May 4, 2017
edited over 3 years ago
Quagmire / In A State Of Permanent Abyss.
What a fantastic use these producers make of the drums and percussion from Heads,Hands and Feet by Santana (The MoonFlower lp) ....
Some of my fave live drumming of all time is on that lp but to then have it expertly reprogrammed into a wicked slice of breakbeat is just so so good!
As for the rest of the lp...
Well I'm still digesting it!...
I cannot believe I have slept on this plus other lps by FSOL.
Never again!
Peace ;)


January 30, 2017
edited over 4 years ago

One of my favourite FSOL album with "Accelerator" and "Lifeforms". Probably their "darkest" release with "ISDN". It's the starting point to enter the wide universe of FSOL, but it gives a good idea of the range of exploration made by this duo. Their recent stuff like "Archived" and "Environment" series are not as accessible as this album.
Dead Cities is the most famous FSOL release because of the two titles ("Herd Killing" & "We Have Explosive") used in the WipeOut 2 soundtrack. This driving me to the big question about this album :
Why "Landmass" title is not present in Dead Cities tracklist (and in any other FSOL release) ???
I suppose this track has just been made for WipeOut 2 and FSOL gave all rights to Sony. With "Landmass", Dead Cities could have been a complete masterpiece, too bad...


August 7, 2016

I've grown up with FSOL since the early 90's, and I can say this is their most complete album from start to finish. What I mean by "complete' is that as an album it stands on it's own, the way songs ebb and flow into and out of each other to the types of songs. From the very aggressive to the tender and heartfelt songs that make a person question their own existence, this album is one of the pinnacles of electronic music.


July 17, 2007
edited over 13 years ago

The strangest prediction of a dystpoian world will emanate from your stereo when you play this. Textures undulating with Orwellian- painted moon-lit soundscapes leave you staring down at the wreckage of your spaceship that was your perception of ambient music before you listened to Dead Cities. There isn't much room for light in this world, and remember to open your eyes once or twice and remind yourself of the photons. This is not just the future sound of london, but if it is, you had better get there when it will be.
Or not?