The Future Sound Of London ‎– The Isness

Hypnotic ‎– CLP 1206-2, Future Sound Of London Recordings ‎– CLP 1206-2
CD, Album, Mispress, Digipak

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Elysian Feels
Electric Guitar – Gary Lucas, Stinky Rowe*Strings – Future Sonic Orchestra Limited*Strings [Outro], Keyboards [Additional] – Max RichterViolin – Mike McEvoy*
2 The Mello Hippo Disco Show
Arranged By [Brass] – Dominic GloverBacking Vocals [Additional La-la's] – Adrian Osmond, Christine Settle, Gloria Gee, Jacqueline Goddard, John-Llewelyn Evans, Jon English (2), Rechenda Elmhurst, The Electric Gospel ChoirCello – Christene Jackson*, Helena Binney, Jane FentonEngineer – Stix (4), YageFlute – Chris Margary*Harp – Thelma OwenHorns – Philip EastopMellotron, Organ [Farfisa], Keyboards – Mikey Rowe*Oboe, Cor Anglais – Kate St. JohnOrchestrated By, Composed By – Mike McEvoy*Synthesizer, Guitar [Additional] – Daniel PembertonTrombone – Mark EadesTrumpet, Trombone – Fayaz Virgi*Violin – Joanna Archard*, Mark McEvoy, Morven Bryce, Sarah TilleyVoice [End Female] – Anjali Saga
3 Goodbye Sky (Reprise)
Electric Piano [Rhodes], Arranged By, Performer – Richie Thomas*Vocals – Gaz Cobain*Vocals [Female] – Joss (4)
4 Osho
Cello – Wayne Urqhart*Composed By [Strings, Credited To], Orchestrated By [Strings, Credited To] – Catrin JonesComposed By [Strings], Orchestrated By [Strings] – Ben Pitt, Mau*, The Cabbage OrchestraSitar, Flute, Strings [Dilruba] – Baluji ShrivastavTwelve-String Guitar [12 String], Voice [Voices] – Cobain*Viola – Merlin Sturt*Violin – Charles Cross*, Jennifer Underhill, Vulu Krakovic*Vocals [Female] – Christine Charley, Riz Maslen
5 The Galaxial Pharmaceutical
Cello – Sue MonksCello [Additional Mellotron Cello] – Mikey Rowe*Drums – Bertie*Drums [Rock Section] – Paul TyagiEngineer [Initial Recordings] – One Man Band Of CosmosEngineer [Initial Recordings], Engineer [Rock Section] – Stix (4)Flugelhorn – Phillip BainbridgeGuitar [Electric] – Stinky Rowe*Mixed By [Master Montage, Rock Section Splice-up & Montage] – Stone FreshwatersOrchestrated By [Strings & Choir], Piano, Keyboards – Max RichterSaxophone – Chris Margery*Synthesizer [Additional], Composed By [Additional Synth Orchestration] – Sir Daniel Pemberton*Viola – Levine AndradeViolin – Alex Balanescu*, Clio GouldVocals [Female] – Christine CharleyVoice [Additional] – Big Screen FX Singers, The Vaudeville StageVoice [Female Answer Machine Residue] – Sara Gepp
6 Yes My Brother
Bass [Crotch-o-matic Bass Modulation] – Philip Pinn*Drums – Herb Moons
7 Go Tell It To The Trees Egghead
Accordion [Electric] – The MajorFlute – Chris Margary*Glockenspiel – Albert Ross JuniorHarmonica – Sam PickinsSitar, Tabla – Baluji ShrivastavSteel Guitar, Slide Guitar – Gary LucasTrumpet, Strings, Double Bass – Max Richter
8 Divinity
Bass – Randy Hope-TaylorBrass – Chris Margary*, Fayaz Virgi*, Kevin Robinson (4)Cello – Sue MonksChorus [Gospel Choir] – Nu ColoursElectric Guitar – Gary Lucas, Stinky Rowe*Engineer – Stix (4)Flugelhorn – Phillip BainbridgeOrchestrated By – Max RichterOrgan [Hammond], Mellotron [8 Voice Choir] – Mikey Rowe*Sitar, Strings [Dilruba], Tabla, Whistle [Tin] – Baluji ShrivastavViola – Levine AndradeViolin – Alex Balanescu*, Clio GouldVocals [Female] – Christene Charly*Voice, Twelve-String Guitar – Gaz Cobain*
9 Guru Song
Backing Vocals [Female] – Anjali SagaElectric Guitar – Stinky Rowe*Flute – Chris Margary*Sitar – Baluji Shrivastav
10 Her Tongue Is Like A Jellyfish
Effects [Fx Warps] – Sampler JamSitar – Baluji Shrivastav
11 Meadows
Banjo – Big Freddy TeddyPiano, Organ, Guitar [Additional] – Mike RoweSitar – Baluji ShrivastavSteel Guitar [Bottleneck Steel] – Gary LucasStrings, Double Bass, Electric Piano [Rhodes], Producer [Additional] – Max RichterVoice [Intro Narration] – Alexa Hamilton
12 High Tide On The Sea Of Flesh
Acoustic Guitar [Finger Pick], Electric Guitar, Effects [Ghost] – Gary LucasCello – Wayne Urqhart*Composed By [Strings], Orchestrated By [Strings] – Ben Pitt, Catrin Jones, Mau*, The Cabbage OrchestraCongas – Mick EnglandSitar, Tabla, Dilruba – Baluji ShrivastavViola – Merlin Sturt*Violin – Charles Cross*, Jennifer Underhill
13 Goodbye Sky
Backing Vocals – Adrian Osmond, Christine Settle, Gloria Gee, Jacqueline Goddard, John-Llewelyn Evans, Jon English (2), Rechenda ElmhurstBrass [Intro] – Lager BrassGuitar, Effects [Ghost Choir] – Gary LucasHarpsichord, Orchestrated By [Additional, Brass], Composed By [Additional, Brass] – Max RichterSynthesizer, Electronics [Brass Emulator] – Mike Rowe

Companies, etc.



This issue was an early version of the album which was released before it had chance to be scrapped.
Most tracks differ slightly or significantly from the final version.

Released in a digipak with a eight page booklet and a small, round, gold sticker on the cover.
Time taken from a computer.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 41157 12062 2
  • Barcode (String): 741157120622
  • Matrix / Runout: 6/5/02 CLP 1206 03 IFPI L794 [DISCTRONICS logo] DISCTRONICS
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L794
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2D3K
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 2D1P

Other Versions (5 of 20) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FSOLLP101 Amorphous Androgynous The Isness(2xLP, Album, Gat) Future Sound Of London Recordings FSOLLP101 UK 2002 Sell This Version
FSOLCD101 Amorphous Androgynous The Isness(CD, Album, Ltd, Bur) Future Sound Of London Recordings FSOLCD101 UK 2002 Sell This Version
LPRSDTOT74 The Amorphous Androgynous* The Isness (The Abbey Road Version)(LP, Album, Ltd, Num) EBV LPRSDTOT74 UK, Europe & US 2018 Sell This Version
2234-2 The Future Sound Of London The Isness(CD, Album) Phonokol 2234-2 Israel 2002 Sell This Version
2600-2 Amorphous Androgynous The Isness(CD, Album) Sum Records (2) 2600-2 Brazil 2003 Sell This Version



Add Review



April 21, 2007
edited over 11 years ago
Too bad this was a mispressing and not the official release, because this one is much better. The tracklist makes more sense, and there are better versions of some songs. "Divinity", "Egghead", and "Guru song" are a bit longer, while "Elysian feels" and "Mello hippo" here are what would become the "Abbey Road versions" from "The Otherness". Of course worth mentioning is the SIGNIFICANTLY better version of "The galaxial pharmaceutical", which is laid out differently. Some sections of the song are not in "official" version, some sections are longer, and it's presented as one continuous song, unlike the "official" version that is pretty much separated into two parts.
"The galaxial pharmaceutical" itself would be worth it for fans of these guys who don't yet have this version of the album.

...also this version is mastered louder, which is nicer but doesn't make the biggest difference.