The Hilliard Ensemble With Members Of The New London Consort ‎– Popular Music From The Time Of Henry VIII

Saga (5) ‎– SAGA 5444
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo


A1 O Lusty May
A2 This Day Daws
A3 Begone, Sweit Night
A4 En Vray Amoure
A5 O My Heart
A6 Madam D'Amours
A7 Consort Piece XX
A8 Absent I Am
A9 My Heartly Service ('The Pleugh Song')
B1 Hey Trolly Lolly Lo!
B2 En Frolyk Weson
B3 Be Peace! Ye Make Me Spill My Ale!
B4 The Duke Of Somersettes Dompe
B5 Ah, Robin
B6 I Love Unloved
B7 Up I Arose In Verno Tempore
B8 Puzzle Canon VI
B9 And I Were A Maiden
B10 England Be Glad


  • Baritone VocalsPaul Hillier (tracks: A1, A2, A5, A6, A8, A9, B1, B3, B5, B6, B7, B9, B10)
  • Bass VocalsErrol Girdlestone (tracks: A1, A6, A8, B9, B10)
  • Composed ByAnon* (tracks: From A1 to B1, B3, B4, From B6 to B10), Cornysh* (tracks: B5)
  • Composed By [Attrib.]Barbireau* (tracks: B2)
  • Countertenor VocalsDavid James (13) (tracks: A1, A2, A5, A6, A8, B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B9)
  • Crumhorn [Soprano Crumhorn], Dulcian [Tenor Dulcian], Bagpipes [Bass Cornemuse], Shawm [Tenor & Soprano Shawm], Recorder [Bass & Tenor Recorder]Philip Pickett (tracks: A1, A4, A7, A9, B7, B8, B9)
  • EngineerJohn Shuttleworth (2)
  • LuteNigel North (tracks: A3, B4, B9)
  • ProducerTed Perry*, Martin Compton
  • Recorder [Tenor Recorder], Sackbut [Tenor Sackbut], Bagpipes [Alto Cornemuse]Paul Nieman (tracks: A1, A4, B2, B7, B8, B9)
  • Sackbut [Bass Sackbut]Martin Nicholls (2) (tracks: A1, A4)
  • Tenor VocalsPaul Elliott (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A5, A6, A8, A9, B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B9, B10)


Front laminated cover

This is a UK release:
Sleeve states: "Saga Records are made in England. They are pressed by Allied Records Ltd."
Labels state: 'Made in W.-Germany'

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side 1, Printed): 6.42 438-01-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side 2, Printed): 6.42438-01-2/1 Manufactured in Germany
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Both Sides, Etched): A-B-II
  • Other (Rights Information): PD