The House Of Love ‎– Audience With The Mind

Fontana ‎– 314 514 880-2, Mercury ‎– 314 514 880-2
CD, Album


1 Sweet Anatomy 3:35
2 Audience With The Mind 3:34
3 Haloes 3:34
4 Erosion 3:20
5 Call Me 4:08
6 Shining On 3:57
7 Portrait In Atlanta 3:29
8 Corridors 3:34
9 Hollow 4:47
10 All Night Long 2:28
11 Into The Tunnel 8:10
12 You've Got To Feel 4:34



Logos: Fontana / Mercury - a PolyGram company.
(P) 1993 (except "Sweet Anatomy" 1992) Phonogram Ltd. (London).
(C) 1993 Phonogram Ltd. (London).
Manufactured and marketed by PolyGram Records Inc. New York, N.Y.
Printed in U.S.A.

Written, arranged and produced by The House Of Love.
Recorded at Orinoco Studios.
Mixed at Metropolis Studios.

Made in U.S.A.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 731451488023

Other Versions (5 of 10) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
314 514 880-2 House Of Love* Audience With The Mind(CD, Album) Fontana 314 514 880-2 Canada 1993 Sell This Version
514 880-4 The House Of Love Audience With The Mind(Cass, Album) Fontana 514 880-4 Indonesia 1993 Sell This Version
314 514 880-4 The House Of Love Audience With The Mind(Cass, Album) Fontana 314 514 880-4 Canada 1993 Sell This Version
514 880-2 House Of Love* Audience With The Mind(CD, Album) Fontana 514 880-2 Europe 1993 Sell This Version
MG1-12 The House Of Love Audience With The Mind(Cass, Album, Unofficial) MG Records (2) MG1-12 Poland Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



October 2, 2016

Listen ... No really, you should listen, it’s not about the thinking. What most people are thinking about, is that they want another ‘House Of Love’ album, just like the one that made so much sense to them the last time, one that would take them to the same places. But man, it’s about the group and their musical progression. It’s about the space they’re in, it’s about what they’re feeling ... and if you sign up for the trip, well don’t expect the scenery to remain the same mile after mile.

While this album is layered with just as much texture and emotion as before, it’s just shown from a different angle. With this release the voices have been brought more to the center, the vocals are much more clear, the records feels like it’s a bit more light and airier. I don’t think many people took the time to really listen to the lyrics on previous ‘House Of Love’ records because the music was so rich, so full, so heavily layered and textured that the vocals were just an extension of that sound. While here, the vocals have to be reckoned with, they’re not hiding in the background mysteriously. Here we almost get a combination for the feel of ‘House Of Love’ and the feel of Guy Chadwick’s brilliant solo effort ‘Lazy Soft and Slow.’

With all of that, this is still a ‘House Of Love’ album in every respect and while acceptance of this release may be difficult, there will come a time when the place it holds in their discography will be as strong as any other of their releases.

As always, the instrumentation is clean, precise, and flawless in their application and production. Every member of the band is playing as a single unit, each aspect no more important that any other. There is nice wonderful sustained guitar work, and very controlled feedback and perhaps a more prominent use of the drums; though that may be debatable. The record is slightly more rock and roll then other releases, but I think that is a reflection of the time in which it was released. The sound on this release is still moody and low, still an adventure of colour, like that of a summer's evening sunset.

This record will hold it’s own that’s for sure. You’ll find bits of past ‘House Of Love’ but I’m ever so happy to hear them step front and center with a new, refined and ambitious recording.

Review by Jenell Kesler