The Ill St.* ‎– Subterranean Hitz Vol. I

WordSound ‎– WSLP014
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Rob Swift X-Orcist
A2 Djinji Brown Head Spins
A3 O.H.M. (2) Hold Ya Horses Dub
B1 Ish* Inner Bein'
B2 Prince Paul Sucker For Love
B3 Baby Bam* Come On
C1 Scotty Hard Bulgarian Tobacco
C2 Torture Thick Markers
C3 The Ill Saint Hidden Gods
D1 Hawd Gankstuh Rappuhs Emsees Wid Ghatz Am Goin' To Jail
D2 The Ill Saint Invasion Of The Body Snatchers

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 718750121417
  • Label Code: LC6110

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WSCD014 The Ill Saint Subterranean Hitz Vol. I(CD, Comp) WordSound WSCD014 US 1997 Sell This Version
none The Ill Saint Subterranean Hitz Vol. I(12xFile, ALAC, Comp, RE) WordSound none US 2013
CRCL-8025 The Ill Saint Subterranean Hitz Vol. I(CD, Comp, Promo) WordSound CRCL-8025 Japan 1997 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 27, 2012
edited over 3 years ago
The Ill Saint compiled a total of three 'Subterranean Hitz" comps, all of them are fantastic. Imagine HP Lovecraft (The highly underrated Horror genius from the late quasi-victorian American era) being teleported through a wormhole to NYC in the late 90s, and becoming a hip hop music dj and producer, and this is what it would sound like. Some tracks are very experimental, but still make your head nod, and others go way out there with ill insane raps. The Wordsound repertoire is still one of the true -est hip hop manifestos to date, something the blingy corpo-pop-rap "fake" hiphop we hear nowadays flooding the airways just doesn't have no matter how much production money and clout they have.