The Imagined Village ‎– The Imagined Village

Real World Records ‎– CDRW147
CD, Album, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 John Copper And Sheila Chandra With Simon Emmerson 'Ouses, 'Ouses, 'Ouses
Bagpipes [Northumbrian] – Carole RobbBass, Mixed By, Recorded By [Bass] – Richard Evans (3)Cello – Barney M BrownDrum Programming – MassHarp [Nickel Harp], Drone [String Drones], Keyboards, Programmed By – Martin RussellRecorded By [Pipes] – Ally LeeViolin, Recorded By [Fiddle] – Phil BeerWritten-By – Steve CoeWritten-By, Guitar – Simon EmmersonWritten-By, Vocals – John Copper, Sheila Chandra
2 Paul Weller, Martin Carthy And Eliza Carthy John Barleycorn
Arranged By, Mandolin [Cittern] – Simon EmmersonArranged By, Programmed By [Synth, Drum And Bass] – MassArranged By, Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Martin CarthyArranged By, Vocals, Fiddle – Eliza CarthyHurdy Gurdy – Nigel EatonProgrammed By [Additional Programming] – Martin RussellVocals, Electric Guitar – Paul WellerWritten-By – Traditional
3 Benjamin Zephaniah And Eliza Carthy With Trans-Global Underground* And Simon Emmerson Tam Lyn Retold
Programmed By – Hamid Mantu*Programmed By, Organ – Tim WhelanSitar – Sheema MukherjeeWritten-By, Guitar, Bouzouki – Simon EmmersonWritten-By, Programmed By, Producer – Trans-Global Underground*Written-By, Vocals – Benjamin ZephaniahWritten-By, Vocals, Fiddle – Eliza Carthy
4 Tunng Death And The Maiden Retold
Written-By, Producer – Mike Lindsay, Sam Genders
5 Chris Wood (10), Eliza Carthy, Martin Carthy And The Young Coppers With Trans-Global Underground* Cold Haily Rainy Night
Arranged By – Trans-Global Underground*Arranged By, Guitar – Martin CarthyArranged By, Vocals – Chris Wood (10)Arranged By, Vocals, Fiddle – Eliza CarthyDhol – Johnny KalsiDrums [Kit Drum] – Jim ChaseProgrammed By, Sintir – Tim WhelanSitar – Sheema MukherjeeVocals – The Young CoppersWritten-By – Traditional
6 Sheila Chandra And Chris Wood (10) The Welcome Sailor
Arranged By, Fiddle, Viola, Recorded By [Strings] – Chris Wood (10)Arranged By, Vocals – Sheila ChandraCello – Barney M BrownDrone [Drones], Mixed By – Martin RussellGuitar – Simon EmmersonWritten-By – Traditional
7 Eliza Carthy Acres Of Ground
Acoustic Guitar, Viola, Recorded By, Producer – Ben IvitskyCello – Barney M BrownDouble Bass – Ali FriendElectric Guitar [Skank And Twang] – Simon EmmersonElectric Guitar [Top Line] – Tom SalterRecorded By [Cello And Percussion] – Martin RussellRecorded By [Double Bass And Simon's Electric], Mixed By – MassTabla, Dhol, Shaker – Johnny KalsiWritten-By, Vocals, Fiddle – Eliza Carthy
8 The Village Band Pilsdon Pen
Arranged By [Orchestral Strings], Programmed By [Orchestral Strings], Recorded By – MassCello – Barney M BrownConcertina [Anglo Concertina] – Andy PooreDouble Bass, Recorded By – Jim BarrFiddle – Lucy RobertsHarmonium, Vocals – Kate GarrettRecorded By, Mixed By – Richard Evans (3)Written-By, Mandolin [Cittern], Guitar, Mandolin [Tenor Cittern], Recorded By [Skylark] – Simon Emmerson
9 Billy Bragg And The Young Coppers With Eliza Carthy And Simon Emmerson Hard Times Of Old England Retold
Arranged By, Fiddle – Eliza CarthyArranged By, Guitar – Simon EmmersonCello – Barney M BrownConcertina [Anglo Concertina] – Andy PooreDrum Programming, Programmed By [Bass And Keyboard] – MassGuitar [Additional], Guitar [Various Other Guitar Tyoe Instruments] – Ben MandelsonLyrics By, Music By – TraditionalLyrics By, Vocals – Billy BraggVocals – The Young Coppers
Worms Meet Moths (English Ceilidh Medley)
10 The Gloworms Kit Whites I & II
Accordion – Jon BrennerArranged By – The GlowormsBanjo, Percussion [Stompbox] – Colin CotterFiddle – Laurel SwiftRecorded By, Mixed By – Richard Evans (3)Written-By – Traditional
11 Tiger Moth Sloe On The Uptake
Arranged By, Fiddle – Eliza CarthyArranged By, Guitar [Slide Guitar] – Ian Anderson*Arranged By, Guitar, Producer [Original Track 'Sloe Benga'] – Ben MandelsonArranged By, Mandolin [Cittern], Spoons – Simon EmmersonArranged By, Melodeon – Rod StradlingBass, Recorded By [Bass], Mixed By – Richard Evans (3)Drum Programming [Drums And Percussion], Programmed By [Synths], Producer [Pre-production], Programmed By, Recorded By [Additional Recording] – MassEngineer [Original Track 'Sloe Benga'] – David KennyHarmonica, Jew's Harp [Jaws Harp] – Chris TurnerProducer [Original Track 'sloe Benga'] – Jon MooreWritten-By – Traditional



From the back cover:
The Imagined Vilage is an ambitious reivention of the English folk tradition, embracing modern-day culture in all its diversity. Classic folk songs are skillfully reworked with the sounds and voices of today, updating the tradition for a new generation.

Winner of the BBC Radio 2 Folk Award
Sponsored by the Arts Council of England

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0884108000847

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CDRW147, 50999-503867-2-7 The Imagined Village The Imagined Village(CD, Album) Real World Records, Virgin CDRW147, 50999-503867-2-7 UK 2007 Sell This Version
CDRWDJ147 The Imagined Village The Imagined Village(CD, Album, Promo, Car) Real World Records CDRWDJ147 UK 2007 Sell This Version
CDRW147, USCDRW147 The Imagined Village The Imagined Village(CD, Album) Real World Records, Ryko Distribution CDRW147, USCDRW147 US 2008 Sell This Version
CDRWG147 The Imagined Village The Imagined Village(CD, Album, RE) Real World Records CDRWG147 2012 Sell This Version
none The Imagined Village The Imagined Village(11xFile, MP3, Album, RE, 320) Real World Records none UK 2015