The Intellectuals (2) ‎– Assorted Live Recordings 1985-90

Fresh Oil/Loose Rock Records ‎– FOLR 0417
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Stereo


Side One
1 Another Way To Retire 5:18
2 Cry Alot 3:56
3 No Crying Shame 3:34
4 Still She's Standing 2:33
5 Tender Care/Tender Touch 4:09
6 Let Me Be Your Man 2:24
Side Two
7 Get Off My Back 4:07
8 Bound To Know 3:28
9 Weary Blues 2:23
10 Going Back To Bed With Betty 4:24
11 You Won't Get Hurt 3:36
12 Strictly Confidential 2:41



2017 marks the 30th anniversary of the release of the Intellectuals’ second and final album, Health & Happiness, the follow-up to their 1986 debut, Half A-Live.

During the quartet’s five-year heyday, gigs usually ended with the engineer handing the band a cassette recording straight from the soundboard. Recently, band members rediscovered a cardboard box of these uncatalogued and previously unheard tapes with no indication of dates or venues.

Compiled from small club gigs, festival shows and radio sessions, each track epitomizes the energy, urgency and Devil-may-care attitude that defined the Intellectuals. This is straight ahead rock’n’roll from a time when streaming was something blood did in our veins and pedal boards looked stupid on stage.

To celebrate this auspicious anniversary, an even dozen rip-roaring, raw, unedited, live performances have been culled from this long-lost stash for your listening pleasure.

Al Jones, P3, Danmarks Radio, 1978 - 87